This documentation supports the 22.1 version of BMC Service Request Management.

To view an earlier version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Adding or modifying a customer profile

Before you can create a work order, the customer must be listed in the People database. Customers are usually added to the People database by the administrator, as described in Creating or modifying People data Open link . However, if a customer is not listed in the database, you can add a customer's profile from the Work Order form.

You can also modify the customer and the contact phone number and site directly on the Work Order form. A modification directly on the Work Order form, however, applies only to the current work order; it does not update the People record permanently.

To update the People database permanently, you can open the People form from the Work Order record.

To add a customer profile

  1. On the IT Home Page, select Service Request Management > Work Order Console.
  2. Click Create.
  3. Click the Customer Search button .
  4. On the People Search form, click Create.
  5. On the People form, complete or modify the required fields, and click Save.
    If you are adding a customer record, you do not need to add all the information for this individual's profile. Enter the necessary information to submit the record.

    If you are adding a customer, the status of the person you added has a default value of Proposed. Your People, or Contact administrator must verify those in Proposed status, update them to Enabled, and add any other information that is necessary.

  6. To clear the Customer or Contact field and enter a different name, click the Clear Field icon .

To modify a customer profile

  1. On the IT Home Page, select Service Request Management > Work Order Console.
  2. Open a current work order that belongs to the customer whose profile you want to modify.
  3. Click the Details button .
  4. In the People form, make the necessary changes.
  5. To clear the Customer or Contact field and enter a different name, click the Clear Field icon .
  6. Click Save.
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments