Phased rollout


This version of the software is currently available only to early adopter SaaS customers as the first step in our phased rollout.

Adding and updating service categories

As a service catalog administrator or internal service supplier, you can use categories to group related services. End users can filter the catalog by a cascading list of categories. When creating catalog sections, BMC Helix Digital Workplace administrators can include a service category. Service catalog administrators can create and maintain the system category list to enforce consistency in the service catalog.

BMC Helix Digital Workplace provides three levels of categories that service catalog administrators and internal service suppliers can use to organize services in the catalog.

Service catalog administrators can also:

  • Import categories from systems (if supported), such as Action Request System (AR System) and Flexera AppPortal.
  • Configure a custom mapping between the source catalog and the internal catalog. When you import services from those systems, the services are categorized based on their mapping assignment.
  • Add service categories in multiple languages. You can publish service categories and their translations for the end users in different locales. For more information, see Localizing catalog items.

To add a category

  1. In BMC Helix Digital Workplace Catalog, go to Services > Categories
    The Manage Categories screen appears.

  2. Click New Category, enter a category name, and then click Create.

To organize services with multilevel categories

The following video (3:12) demonstrates how categories are used in service catalog profiles, and how to create and edit the category list.


The following video shows an older version of BMC Helix Digital Workplace Catalog. The previous product name was MyIT Service Broker. Although there might be minor changes in the UI, the overall functionality remains the same.


If a user cannot see the categories, ensure that the user is not assigned to conflicting permissions groups in BMC Helix Digital Workplace Catalog. For information about user permission groups, see Setting up user accounts and granting access to BMC Helix Digital Workplace Catalog.

Required licensing

SaaS subscribers who use BMC Helix ITSM or BMC Helix Virtual Agent Basic service are entitled to this feature.

Where to go from here

Before you can apply categories to services, enable the categories in the service type template. For more information, see Managing service type templates.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you