Sharing and copying dashboards

Although dashboards are private by default, you can share dashboards with other users.  

From version 11.3.03, you can view dashboards only if the tenant administrator has provided permissions in the authorization profiles while specifying objects. Additionally, the roles must have the permission to view and manage dashboards. On the Administration > Roles page, the permission to manage dashboards is governed by the Allow Managing Dashboards permission and covers functions such as creating, modifying, copying, sharing, and deleting dashboards. The permission to view dashboards is governed by the Allow Viewing Dashboards permission.

Similarly, shared dashboards can be accessed by other users only if the tenant administrator has provided access to others via authorization profiles. Tenant administrators also have access to non-shared dashboards or dashboards not shared by anyone. This capability can help tenant administrators manage dashboards that are no longer in use.

If you share a dashboard with other users and then delete it, you delete it for them, too. Anyone can view a shared dashboard, but only you can edit or delete a dashboard that you created. However, as an administrator you can allow users to edit the shared dashboards even though they do not own them by running the tssh properties set manageDashboardInSharingMode true reload command.

When you find or create a dashboard that you like, copying it is the easiest way to create a similar one that you can modify for another purpose. Because owners of shared dashboards can delete them, copying a dashboard enables you to control it yourself. New dashboards created by copying another are automatically named Copy of <sourceDashboardName>. You can copy a dashboard from the Dashboards page or from the dashboard. After copying a dashboard, you can edit it to modify its name and other properties.  This topic provides the following procedures:

Note

If an administrator removes a user from the system who owns shared dashboards, those dashboards are also deleted from the system.

To share a dashboard

  1. Click My Dashboards

  2. Locate the dashboard to share, and click the Shared toggle.

    Note

    The Shared Dashboards tab lists dashboards that are shared by others. It does not list the dashboards shared by you.

    However, when you upgrade to version 11.3.03, by default, all the shared dashboards will be visible under the Shared Dashboards tab irrespective of whether it is created by you or others. A tenant administrator can restrict these permissions later by editing the relevant authorization profiles.

Shared status

Shared for use by others
Available to only you

To copy a dashboard from the Dashboards page

  1. Click My Dashboards or Shared Dashboards or Non-Shared Dashboards tab.

  2. In the action menu to the left of the dashboard name, select Copy Dashboard
    The new dashboard appears in the My Dashboards list as Copy of <sourceDashboardName>.

  3. Rename the copied dashboard to a unique name. 

    Note

    • If you do not rename the copied dashboard, it prevents others from creating additional copies of the same dashboard if needed.
    • From version 11.3.03, the Non-Shared Dashboards tab is available to tenant administrators.

Dashboard page menu options

To copy an active dashboard

  1. Select a dashboard from the My DashboardsShared Dashboards, or Non-Shared Dashboards tab.

  2. In the action menu to the right of the dashboard name, select Copy Dashboard
    The new dashboard appears in the My Dashboards list as Copy of <sourceDashboardNameTimestamp>.
  3. Rename the copied dashboard to a unique name. 

    Note

    • If you do not rename the copied dashboard, it prevents others from creating additional copies of the same dashboard if needed.
    • From version 11.3.03, the Non-Shared Dashboards tab is available to tenant administrators.

Related topics

Adding and modifying dashboards

Deleting dashboards

Getting started with dashboards

Active dashboard menu options

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments

  1. Anita Hatagale

    set keyword is missing in this command tssh properties manageDashboardInSharingMode true reload command

    Sep 23, 2020 12:54
    1. Priyanka Nanwani

      This is now corrected, thanks Anita! The change will be published shortly.

      Oct 29, 2020 06:42