Managing users and groups

Managing users and groups is an important administrative activity in TrueSight Middleware Administrator.

Note

The user (an IBM WebSphere MQ or TIBCO EMS middleware manager) works in the User Console, using it to administer IBM WebSphere MQ queue managers or TIBCO EMS servers.

Note that the managing of users and groups is not supported in TrueSight Middleware Administrator (Monitor Edition).

See a summary of the functionality differences between the full version of TrueSight Middleware Administrator and TrueSight Middleware Administrator (Monitor Edition).

Components of user and group administration are:

  • Creating and managing user and group identities.
  • Managing those users and groups within the umbrella of project administration. This includes:
    • Adding them to projects.
    • Assigning permissions that lets them manage objects within middleware products associated to project connections.
    • Changing permissions.
    • Removing users and groups from a specific project.

Groups administration is really a means of organizing users into coherent groups that have common middleware administrative purposes.

Note

The ability to manage or view users and groups from within the Admin Console depends on the active Security Model. For example, you can manage and view users and groups when in the ADMIN_ADMIN model, but you cannot manage or view groups and users in the LDAP_LDAP model (in this model, there is no Users/Groups option in the Navigation Panel).

Managing users

Creating a new user

The first step in administering users is configuring a new user with a clear identity. 

The following procedure assumes that you have accessed the application and navigated to the Admin Console as a Product Administrator user.

To create a new user:

  1. Select the Users option from the Navigation Panel (select the word Users, not the horizontal navigational arrow to its right).
  2. The Users view fills the workspace; select the Add Item icon "+" from the Options above the list.
  3. The Properties for New User editor is displayed with the Enabled option checked.
  4. Set individual user properties:
    1. User Name (Mandatory) – Assign a login name that the user can use to access the application (specifically the User Console).
    2. Write the user's full name.
    3. Email address.
    4. Note the selected Enabled box. This is the default state, which assumes enabling the user for project associations. It is the Product Administrator's choice to automatically enable a given user (leave box checked) or disable the setting (creates user identity but leaves activation to another time).
    5. Select the Set Password checkbox. This enables the Password box, a prerequisite to assigning a password to the new user.
    6. Set an initial user password; together with the User Name, enables user logon (authentication). The user can change this later using the User Console's functionality.
  5. Save your settings. The new user is stored in the application database. The workspace scrolls to the Users view, and you see the new user name alphabetically displayed.

Copying a user

To copy a user:

  1. Select Users from the Navigation Panel.
  2. In the displayed Users View, click on the Operations arrow icon next to the relevant user.
  3. Select Copy.
  4. In the displayed Properties for New User dialog, define settings as required.
  5. Click the Save icon to save your settings.

Editing a user

To edit a user:

  1. Select Users from the Navigation Panel.
  2. Click on the relevant user name in the Users View.
  3. Modify the user settings as required. Note that you cannot modify the User Name field but you can modify the user's password by selecting the Set Password checkbox.
  4. Click the Save icon to save your settings.

Auditing a user

To audit a user:

  1. Select Users from the Navigation Panel.
  2. In the displayed Users View, click on the Operations arrow icon next to the relevant user.
  3. Select Audit.
  4. In the displayed Audit Events dialog up to the last 10 events will be displayed for the user. If there is a specific time period you want to audit for the selected user, select the date and time along with any other options needed to display the specific user and click Submit.
  5. Browse the list of events that are generated for the selected time period.

Deleting a user

To delete a user:

  1. Select Users from the Navigation Panel.
  2. In the displayed Users View, click on the Operations arrow icon next to the relevant user.
  3. Select Delete.
  4. In the displayed confirmation message, click OK.

Note

You can also delete a user from a specific group only, as described below.

Managing groups 

A group is an association of users with common characteristics and purposes. You create groups to simplify administration generally, and specifically to make project administration more efficient.

Note

You can also create a group that can be assigned with Product Administrator rights, meaning all members of that group will have Product Administrator rights. See Managing administrators.

Creating a new group

To create a group:

  1. Select the Groups option from the Navigation Panel. The Groups view is displayed.
  2. Select the Add Item  icon, and the New Group Properties dialog is displayed.
  3. Define Group Name (Mandatory) and Description in the appropriate text fields. You can also assign users to the group, as described below.
  4. Save your settings. The Groups view returns to the workspace, with the Group Name and Description displayed alongside the newly created group in the list.

Assign a user to a group

To assign users to groups:

  1. Click the arrow icon next to Groups from the Navigation Panel.
  2. From the displayed list of groups, click on the group to which the new user will belong. This opens the Group Properties pane.
  3. Select the Add icon option to open the Add Users to Group dialog.
  4. Select a user to add from the list of available users.
  5. The new user is added at the bottom of the user list. You can sort the list by clicking on the User Name heading.

Delete a user from a group

You can delete a user from a group at any time.

To delete any user from a group:

  1. Select Groups from the Navigation Panel.
  2. From the displayed list of groups, click on the group from which the user will be deleted. This opens the Group Properties pane.
  3. Select Delete from the drop-down menu adjacent to the user that you intend to delete.
  4. Confirm the deletion request, knowing that confirmation removes the user from the group.
  5. The user is removed from the Group Members list.
  6. Save changes to the group after deleting the user.

The need to save an action depends on the context of the procedure just complete. If you perform a procedure within a Summary View for a selected object, confirming a deletion enforces the change. If, however, you delete an object within the Properties Editor of a separate object, you must save the parent object to enact the change. For instance, to complete the deletion of a user from a project, you must save the project.

Copying a group

To copy a group:

  1. Select Groups from the Navigation Panel.
  2. In the displayed Groups View, click on the Operations arrow icon next to the relevant group.
  3. Select Copy.
  4. In the displayed Properties for New Group dialog, define settings as required.
  5. Click the Save icon to save your settings.

Editing a group

To edit a group:

  1. Select Groups from the Navigation Panel.
  2. Click on the relevant group name in the Groups View.
  3. Modify the group settings as required. Note that you cannot modify the Group Name field.
  4. Click the Save icon to save your settings.

Auditing a group

To audit a group:

  1. Select Group from the Navigation Panel.
  2. In the displayed Group View, click on the Operations arrow icon next to the relevant group.
  3. Select Audit.
  4. In the displayed Audit Events dialog up to the last 10 events will be displayed for the user. If there is a specific time period you want to audit for the selected user, select the date and time along with any other options needed to display the specific user and click Submit.
  5. Browse the list of events that are generated for the selected time period.

Deleting a group

To delete a group:

  1. Select Groups from the Navigation Panel.
  2. In the displayed Groups View, click on the Operations arrow icon next to the relevant group.
  3. Select Delete.
  4. In the displayed confirmation message, click OK.

Note

You can also delete a user from a specific group only, as described above.
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments