Upgrade FAQs

This topic provides answers to frequently asked questions about the BMC Remedyforce upgrade process.

  What are my upgrade options?

Starting with version 20.15.01 (Winter 15), BMC Remedyforce implemented the Hybrid Upgrade Model. This model provides the following options for upgrading your existing BMC Remedyforce environment to version 20.17.01:

  • Automatic Upgrade: Wait for BMC to automatically upgrade your organization.
    For information about dates on which BMC will automatically upgrade all sandbox and production organizations that are on the latest version of 20.16.01.xxx and its hotfixes, see Release schedules. Because of the number of queued upgrades, BMC cannot provide a specific time for upgrading any specific organization besides the date.
  • Self-Upgrade: Perform the upgrade according to your own schedule and requirements.
    Based on your organization's needs and internal change control processes, you can perform a self-upgrade at any time or on any day before the scheduled automatic upgrade by BMC. The self-upgrade process provides you the highest level of flexibility and control of your upgrade, and requires no intervention from BMC. Please take note about the scheduled platform maintenance so that your upgrade does not conflict with any other system or platform maintenance. For possible platform dates, see http://trust.salesforce.com.
  What can I do to prepare for the upgrade?

Before your organization is upgraded to the current release, you must review enhancements of the previous release and understand the actions that you must perform after BMC upgrades your organization. For more information about the previous release, see 20.17.02 enhancementsConfiguring profile-level permissions after self-upgrade or automatic upgrade, and Enabling new features in 20.17.02.

  How do I know what version is currently installed on my organization?

System administrators can log on to each organization and navigate to Setup > Installed Packages. The version number is listed next to the BMC Remedyforce managed package. The following is a mapping of BMC Remedyforce version numbers to the more commonly known names:

Name Version
Winter 17 20.17.01.xxx
Summer 16 20.16.01.xxx
Summer 15 20.15.03.xxx
Spring 15 20.15.02.xxx
Winter 15 20.15.01.xxx
Summer 14 20.14.02.xxx
Winter 14 20.14.01.xxx
Summer 13 20.13.02.xxx
Spring 13 20.13.01.xxx
Winter 13 20.12.02.xxx
Spring 12 20.12.01.xxx
Winter 11 20.11.03.xxx
  Will BMC upgrade my organization automatically?

If you do not Self Upgrade your organization prior to the scheduled dates for the Automatic Upgrade, BMC will automatically upgrade your organization. For more information, see Release schedules.

  Can BMC upgrade my organization prior to the dates for the automatic upgrade?

BMC performs the upgrade for you only during the specified dates for the Automatic Upgrade option. If you have customizations or other special requirements, contact your Customer Success Manager.

  Can I opt out of the upgrade to the latest version?

You may opt out of the Self Upgrade option but not the Automatic Upgrade option. Unless you self-upgrade your organization prior to the scheduled dates for the Automatic Upgrade, BMC will automatically upgrade your organization. For more information, see Release schedules. If you have customizations or other special requirements, contact your Customer Success Manager.

  What about upgrading sandbox organizations?

Because production and sandbox organizations are separate environments, upgrading one will not impact the other. Also, the upgrade process is the same regardless of the type of organization. BMC recommends that you upgrade your sandbox organization prior to your production organization, although it is not mandatory. It is also not a requirement to have a sandbox organization. For additional information about sandbox organizations, see Salesforce Help.

Prior to upgrading a sandbox organization, you must click the Remedyforce Administration tab, and you must not navigate to any other page until the Remedyforce Administration page is loaded completely. The initial load might take several seconds. Sometimes when sandbox organizations are refreshed, the system administrator does not open the Remedyforce Administration tab, which causes an Out Of The Box missing notice during the upgrade.

  Will my sandbox organizations be upgraded before my production organizations?

If you choose the Self Upgrade option, you can upgrade any organization at any time as long as you upgrade before the Automatic Upgrade dates listed previously. BMC recommends that you upgrade your sandbox organization prior to your production organization, although it is not mandatory.

For the Automatic Upgrade option, the organization types will be upgraded as defined in Release schedules.

  Will there be any down time during the upgrade?

You should not see any down time during the upgrade process. BMC recommends that you upgrade sandbox organizations before production organizations, especially if you use custom code, objects, or classes.

  What actions do I need to perform after the upgrade?

You must perform all of the required post-upgrade actions, taking a special note of permission sets and profiles. For more information, see Configuring profile-level permissions after self-upgrade or automatic upgrade. To perform additional steps to enable the new features in Winter 17 (20.17.01), see Enabling new features in 20.17.02.

For information about the overall upgrade process, see Overview of the upgrade processes

  How do I know whether the upgrade conflicts with any other system or Salesforce maintenance?

You can note the scheduled platform maintenance to make sure that your upgrade does not conflict with any other system or Salesforce maintenance. For possible platform dates, see http://trust.salesforce.com.

  Why are clients unable to view files attached to records?

You might have enabled a Salesforce setting, which uploads files as Salesforce files, not as attachments. To enable clients to view files attached to records, perform the following steps:

  1. Navigate to Setup > Customize > Salesforce Files > Settings > General Settings.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Clear the Files uploaded to the Attachments related list on records are uploaded as Salesforce Files, not as attachments check box.
  4. Click Save.

Note: Files uploaded prior to enabling this setting are unaffected by this change. However, if you have uploaded any files while this setting was enabled, the clients cannot view these files.


Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments