Phased rollout

 

This documentation supports the 21.05 version of BMC Helix ITSM: knowledge Management. To view an earlier version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Changing the status of a knowledge article





Article review statuses are divided by status group and type. The types compose the workflow phases. 

Status type

The following information applies to all review statuses:

  • Only the assigned reviewer and Knowledge Admin can update an article.
  • Members from the reviewer's support group can assign an article to themselves.
  • Reviewers can add an update request and edit an article.

The following table provides a description of article status types.

Status typeDescription
In ProgressInitial status that is automatically assigned to all articles at the time of creation. Articles are visible only to the author until they are promoted to Draft status. The author can update and save the article an unlimited number of times before highlighting it.
DraftThe first status in the workflow. The author promotes articles to this status after creating the article. Draft articles contain content that has not undergone a formal review or has not been approved. Articles with this status are designated for internal use by Support only, and are not accessible to external users, also known as Self Help users.
SME Review

Typically the next step after Draft. The SME Reviewer reviews and optionally edits the article, and can promote it to one of the following statuses:

  • Another review status for additional review
  • Publish Approval status (only if the reviewer is a member of the support group)
Optional Review 1

Additional, optional review status that is subsequent to the SME Review status. A reviewer reviews and edits the article, and promotes it to either an additional review of a different type or to Publish Approval status. By default, Optional Review 1 is intended for technical content review.

Note: The name of this status is configurable.

Optional Review 2

Additional, optional review status that is subsequent to the SME Review or Optional Review 1 status. A reviewer reviews and edits the article, and promotes it to Publish Approval. By default, Optional Review 2 is intended for proofreading.

Note: The name of this status is configurable.

Publish Approval

Mandatory status before being Published. The article is sent for approval pending publication.

Best practice: Change the initial settings of automatic approvals to manual approvals and set up approvers for the approval process, otherwise it will result in continued automatic approvals. Changing the settings and not setting up approvers will result in the failure of the approval level processes. For more details on configuring approval processes and approvers, see Configuring approvals.

Published

The article is published and becomes available to all users.

Note: Self help users can view only Published articles, if the articles are not marked for internal use only.

Retire Approval

Mandatory status before being Retired. The article is sent for approval pending its retirement.

Note: We recommend that you change the initial settings of automatic approvals to manual approval and set up approvers for the approval process. Not changing the initial settings will result in continued automatic approvals. Changing the settings and not setting up approvers will result in the failure of the approval level processes. For more details on configuring approval processes and approvers, see Configuring approvals.

RetiredThe article is no longer relevant for use but remains searchable.
Closed VersionAn earlier version of an article that is not searchable. This status is automatically assigned when a new article version is created and becomes Published.
Cancelled

The article is no longer usable or searchable, however, it is not deleted from the database. Cancelled status is displayed as an item on the Status drop-down list to Knowledge Admin users only. Administrators can also filter for cancelled articles in the KM Console. For more information, see How knowledge articles are found. This status can be set from any other status (for example, Draft). The exception to this rule is that Published articles can never be promoted directly to Cancelled status, and Knowledge Users must first send a Cancellation Request for approval.

For more information, see Cancelling a knowledge article.

Status group

The following table presents a description of the status types and divides them into the following groups:

  • Article status group — Group containing either Published or Not Published articles. Also see How knowledge articles are found.
  • Status bar group — Group of similar statuses that is displayed on the status bar. 

Article status groupStatus bar groupStatus type
NoneIn ProgressIn Progress
Not PublishedDraftDraft
In ReviewSME Review
Optional Review 1
Optional Review 2
Publish Approval
PublishedPublishedPublished
Retire Approval
NoneClosedClosed Version
Retired
Cancelled

Status transition

The following table presents the pre-configured default status transition workflows that are available in accordance with user roles and permissions. Status transitions are configurable parameters and you can customize them, as required.

Status From/To

In Progress

Draft

SME Review

Optional Review 1

Optional Review 2

Publish Approval

Published

Retire Approval

Retired

Canceled

Closed Version

In Progress

x

Draft

x

x

x

x

x

SME Review

x

x

x

x

Optional Review 1

x

x

x

x

Optional Review 2

x

x

x

x

Publish Approval

By approval

Published

x

Retire Approval

By approval

Retired

Cancelled

Closed Version

When an article is in the Publish Approval or Retire Approval status, user can request a cancellation of the Publish Approval or Retire Approval process. This reverts the article status back to the Draft or Published status. If a draft has a previously published version, only the draft version is retired. If the published version is requested for retired-approval, a message is displayed that states that the draft must be deleted first.

When you change the status of an article from In Progress to Cancelled, the article is deleted. You can use this option to delete an article that is created mistakenly and not needed anymore.

To change the status of a knowledge article

If you are an authorized author and reviewer, you can select the new status and save the article. 

You can change an article's status in the following locations:

    • Status transition bar in the header section of the knowledge article
    • Status field on the Details page of the knowledge article.



Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments