Setting up users

A tenant administrator creates users to provide access to the product console. To understand the concept of users, see User access and keys.

On the User access > Users and keys page, you can filter users by source to find users that were created in BMC Helix Portal or users that were imported from an external identity provider (IdP) or synced from BMC Helix ITSM. To understand the concept of external IdP users and synced users, see User identities

What type of users are synced from BMC Helix ITSM?

Only Licensed (Fixed, Floating, and Bundled) users are synced from BMC Helix ITSM. Users with the license type Read and Restricted Read are not synced.

To create a user

  1. Navigate to the User access > Users and keys page. 
  2. Under the Users tab, click Add user.
  3. Perform one of the following actions:
    • To create a new user, select Local user.
    • To create an external user associated with a supported external identity provider (IdP), select SAML/IdP user.
  4. Based on the selected user type, provide the first name, last name, email ID, and login ID to access BMC Helix Portal. Confirm the details provided.
  5. Select one or more user groups and roles in the panel displayed.
    The user is created with the source set to Internal user.

Managing users

Navigate to the User access > Users and keys page, and click the Users tab.

From the Actions menu of a user, perform the following tasks:

Task

Procedure
Delete a user

Select Delete and click Yes

As a logged-in user, you cannot delete yourself.

Important

When you delete an External user, the authorization provided for the user is deleted. However, the user can still log in with the default authorization. For more information about External users, see User identities.

View permissions assigned to a user

Select View permissions.

View and edit user groups and roles assigned to a user

  1. Select User options.

  2. (Optional) Change the user group and role assignments.

Activate or deactivate user

Select Deactivate user to temporarily deactivate a user with Enabled status instead of deleting the user from the system

Select Activate user to reactivate a user and restore all previous access for a user.

Deactivated users will not be able to log in to BMC Helix Portal with immediate effect. 

Important

For any of the actions performed for a user, the impacted users receive an in-app notification. For example, when you change the role assignments, activate a user, or delete a user.


Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments