Managing notification profiles

Notifications are helpful to let you know of activities that take place in BMC Helix Portal. Notifications help you quickly see the changes to the system and quickly respond to possible issues or user needs. By default, users receive standard in-app or email notifications. For example, you get an in-app notification when a user is created or the access key is about to expire.

A notification profile defines the users and groups to be notified when an activity takes place in BMC Helix Portal. The following out-of-the-box profiles are available in BMC Helix Portal and the intended recipients receive in-app notifications about the changes made in these scenarios:

  • New user is added to a user group
  • User is removed from a user group
  • New role is assigned to a user
  • Role is revoked from a user
  • Access key expiry: You receive a notification two days before the key expires.
    • Key expiry: All members of the Administrator group and the user who created and modified the access key receives the notification.
    • User-level key expiry: The user who created the access key receives the notification.

A tenant administrator also receives in-app notifications for the activities performed in BMC Helix Intelligent Automation. For details about the scenarios for which notifications are triggered, see  To view in-app notifications Open link .

A notification expires 30 days after it is read. An unread notification expires 30 days after it is received.

Can I create a notification profile?

No, you cannot create your own notification profiles. However, you can configure the default notification profiles by selecting the users who should be notified. For more information, see Editing notification profiles.

Are there other notifications available?

  • Banner notifications – You receive this notification when the BMC SaaS Operations team schedules a maintenance or upgrade.
    A banner closes automatically after two days.

  • Email notifications – You receive this notification only for access key expiry.
    To allow users to receive email notifications, the administrator must configure your company's mail server and verify that the users have valid email accounts with the specified server.

To activate or deactivate notification profiles

The Notification Profiles page displays the notification profiles of the integrated products and BMC Helix Portal. You can temporarily stop notifications for activities that you don't want to verify,

  1. Select Configure > Notification profiles
  2. From the Actions menu of a notification profile, click Deactivate.

All notifications for that profile type are turned off and the impacted users no longer receive notifications.

You can also activate or deactivate a notification profile while editing the profile.

To specify the recipients to be notified

From the Actions menu of a notification profile, click Profile details.

  • To send notifications to all users, groups, and roles, click Everyone.
  • To send notification to specified recipients:
    • In Context variables, click Select

      • To send notifications to the selected users and groups, select Requested for.
      • To send notifications to the administrator, select Requested by.
        For example, when a new user is added, the specific user or group receives the notification. If the administrator also needs to be notified, select Requested by.
  • To send notification to specific users, groups, or roles:
    1. Click Select
    2. From the UsersGroups, or Roles list, select the users, groups, or roles to add them as recipients, and click Confirm.

The selected individual users and users who are part of the selected groups or roles will receive the notification.

Important

You cannot assign notification profiles to composite roles.

Use the Reset profile option to revert any changes to the profile's recipient list and reset it to the default state.

To remove recipients from the notification profile

  1. Click <number of users, groups, or roles> assigned, which indicates the existing number of users or groups that are recipients of notifications. 
    Assign notification profiles to roles
  2. From the UsersGroups, or Roles list, select the users, groups, or roles to remove them as recipients, and click Remove.

To customize email notifications

An email notification is sent only for access key expiry. Use the template editor to customize the notification email by modifying the default text and rebranding the default email content. For example, you can change the contact details or hide the footer in the email.

  1. For a profile that has email notification enabled, select Actions > Profile details.
  2. In the Profile details pane, click Template editor. The Draft tab shows the content of the default email notification.
  3. Add the Subject, Heading, Body, Footer, and Disclaimer text.
  4. To automatically include information in the fields, add a variable by typing the following information:
    Type open braces ({), select one of the variables from the list, and type close braces (}).
    For example, in the Heading field, you can add the text: Access key expiry for {$params.name}. When the user receives the email notification, the header will be: Access key expiry for <name of the access key>. 
  5. Choose one of the following options:
    • To view  the email content and format before sending the notification, click Preview draft. You can confirm the look and feel in the preview, edit it, and then send the notification.
    • To send the email notification, click Save and publish changes.
      The Published tab shows the content of the mail that is published. Use the Preview published option to view the published email notification or to copy the contents.
    • To save the changes of the draft and to publish the notification later, click Save draft
  6. (Optional) View the contents and format of the draft or published notification in an email by using the options in the Send a test email section. By default, the email is sent to the email ID of the logged-in user. You can view the profile details of the logged in user in the My profile page.

Warning

You can reset the notification details to the default values. The Reset profile option not only resets the email template to the default, but it also reverts any changes made to the recipients (users, groups, or roles) of the notification profile. 


Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments