Global configuration

The Global configuration page provides the configuration parameters that are applicable for every UI page of BMC Helix Continuous Optimization. As an administrator, configure the following global settings on this page:

  • Email address of an administrator for receiving email notifications.
  • Default time zone, chart options, and date and numbering formats used in the UI.
  • Automate the dismissal and purging of entities.

To configure the global settings

  1. In Administration, select System > Global Configuration.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. On the Notifications tab, specify the administrator email address to send notifications about errors and warnings. You can specify multiple email addresses separated by a semicolon (;).

  4. On the UI Defaults tab, configure the required date and numbering formats and chart options:

    Setting

    Description

    UI Date Format

    Date format to use in every page of BMC Helix Continuous Optimization wherever date appears.

    Number Format

    Format for displaying numbers in every BMC Helix Continuous Optimization UI page that contains them or when exporting data table values of a chart to an XLS file.

    Default Analysis Name

    Default name for the title of an analysis based on macros, when creating it through the wizard or editing it through the editor of the analysis.

    Max number of series in chart legendMaximum number of series for the legend to use in the chart.

    CSV Column Separator

    Delimiter character used to separate data columns in a CSV file.

    CSV Decimal Separator

    Decimal separator used to format numbers in a CSV file.

    Charts Default Time zone

    Time zone

    Default time zone to be used when showing data series in every chart of BMC Helix Continuous Optimization such as charts in analyses, models, and views. 

    Select one of the following options:

    • UTC: Set UTC time zone as a default time zone.

    • Specified time zone: Set the selected time zone as default. 

    Select time zone
    (Displayed when the Specified time zone option is selected)

    Select a time zone from a list. You can check whether the time zones in the list follow the Daylight Saving Time (DST): 

    • The Standard Time label on the time zones indicates that these time zones will not be affected by DST anytime during the year.
    • The time zones without this label indicates that these time zones follow standard time during the Fall season, but will be affected by DST during the Summer season.

    For example, Argentina Standard Time indicates non-DST and Eastern Time indicates DST-affected time zones. 

    Charts Layout
    Title colorColor for the chart titles.
    Axis colorColor for the axes used in the charts.
    Legend colorColor for the chart legend.
    Charts Date Format

    Hourly Ticks format

    In presence of hourly resolution chart, a tick appears in the time axis of the chart in correspondence of a time value. The tick label must be rendered with the format specified.

    Daily Ticks format

    In presence of daily resolution chart, a tick appears in the time axis of the chart in correspondence of a day value. The tick label must be rendered with the format specified.

    Monthly Ticks format

    In presence of monthly resolution chart, a tick appears in the time axis of the chart in correspondence of a month value. The tick label must be rendered with the format specified.

    Yearly Ticks format

    In presence of yearly resolution chart, a tick appears in the time axis of the chart in correspondence of a year value. The tick label must be rendered with the format specified.

  5. (Advanced only) On the Automatic purging of entities, configure the options for purging systems and business drivers. For details, see Enabling automatic dismissal and purging of systems and business drivers.
  6. Click Save

To enable automatic dismissal and purging of systems and business drivers 

As an administrator, automate the dismissal and purging of entities (systems and business drivers).

You can clean up the environment from unused and obsolete entities. As a result, the number of unused or inactive systems is reduced and you can align the system licensing count with that of the systems.

Important

The automatic dismissal and purging configuration does not move entities from the Newly Discovered or Unreachable folder to Unassigned or Dismissed folder. You must move such entities manually.

Perform the following steps to enable automatic dismissal and purging of entities:

  1. On the Global configuration page, click Advanced and expand the Automatic purging of entities section.

  2. Click Edit.



  3. In the Options for purging systems and Options for purging business drivers sections, perform these steps:
    1. Specify whether you want to enable the automatic dismissal and purging of entities (systems and business drivers).
    2. Specify the inactivity duration in a number of days, weeks, or months to dismiss and purge entities. After this duration is reached, the status of entities is changed as described in the following table:

      Inactivity duration toDefault valueAction after the inactivity duration is reached

      Dismiss systems from Unassigned folder

      Dismiss business drivers from Unassigned folder

      One monthEntities in the Unassigned folder are moved to the Dismissed folder.

      Dismiss systems from Workspace

      Dismiss business drivers from Workspace

      720 days

      Entities in the Workspace folder are moved to the Dismissed folder.

      Purge systems

      Purge business drivers

      Two months

      Entities in the Dismissed folder are deleted permanently.

      The duration is calculated based on the last activity attribute of the entity.

  4. Save the changes.

You can also manually dismiss or purge entities. For more information, see Life cycle and status of entities and domains.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments