This documentation supports the 22.1 version of BMC Helix Digital Workplace Basic and BMC Helix Digital Workplace Advanced. Icons distinguish capabilities available only for the Advanced and External license levels. For more information, see License types and features.

Collaborating with other users on service requests

As an end user, after you raise a service request, you can add other users to the request and collaborate with them. Collaboration on a service request becomes useful when you create a request that impacts multiple users or when you are unavailable during the request resolution. Collaborators can view, comment on, and cancel the service request.

Example

Allen is an analyst in Apex Global. He and his colleagues work in the office room where an office printer is installed and connected to the corporate network. Allen wants to print a document, but the quality of the printing has diminished. To get the printer repaired, he submits a service request. After submitting the request, the following events occur:

  1. Allen adds his colleagues to the service request as collaborators.
    As Allen is on leave for the next two days, any of his colleagues can help the IT department with the service request resolution.
  2. Allen realized that Jane, one of his colleagues, had already requested for the printer repair. Similarly, Jane realized that Allen created another service request for the same problem. Because Allen had added Jane as a collaborator to his request, she cancels his request with the comment that she had already created another request.

To add a collaborator to a service request

Add a collaborator to a service request manually or by automatically sharing the request with them.

To manually add a collaborator or a collaborator group to a request

  1. Log in to BMC Helix Digital Workplace.
  2. Open the service request to which you want to add collaborators.
  3. Select Options > Add/remove.
  4. In the Collaborators dialog box, add available individual users or user groups.
    The service request is shared with the selected users and groups when the Collaborators dialog box is closed.

Important

A service requester can add a combined maximum of 20 individual collaborators and collaborator groups to their service requests.

To automatically share a service request with a collaborator group

Make sure you have created a collaborators group before sharing a service request with it. 

  1. Log in to BMC Helix Digital Workplace.
  2. In your profile, navigate to the Collaborators section.
  3. In Manage group settings, enable the toggle key for Auto-share, as shown in the following image:
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments