You can edit various aspects of an application, depending on how it came into the TrueSight console:
You can also activate and edit, or deactivate for manually created or automatically generated applications.
If you set the Synthetic field to OFF, all synthetic configurations for the application, including all execution plans, are deleted.
This topic presents the following sections:
To perform these procedures, you must have -level access.
You can edit the name and description of a manually created application. You can change the level of importance and synthetic transaction monitoring for any application.
On the Edit Application page, edit the following details:
For a manually created application, edit the name, description, or level of importance. You can also turn on or off synthetic monitoring.
You cannot edit the Type and Status Computation Model fields.
Click Save at the bottom of the page.
You can delete an application so that it no longer is displayed in the TrueSight console. For example, if you change application discovery rules and an application is displayed that you no longer need, you can delete the application from TrueSight console. Likewise, if you uninstall App Visibility agents to stop monitoring an application, you can delete the application from the console.
If the application is still active, it is displayed in the console, again, after the next heartbeat.
You can edit a manually created application model and add new devices or groups to the model. The new devices or groups that you add are displayed in the form of nodes in the application model. You can also change the hierarchy of existing nodes in the model. When you click a node in the application model, details of the node are displayed at the bottom of the page as shown in the following figure:
This procedure describes how to add a device or a group to an application model.
The nodes in application models are dependent on one another. When you create a model, you determine the dependency and whether the event status is propagated—that is, whether the status of a "lower" node influences the status of a "higher" node, and, ultimately, the status of the application. If you do not connect the nodes, or if events are not propagated, then the node status has no impact on the status of the application.
In an automatically created model, the nodes are automatically dependent and events are automatically propagated.
If you select a group, you can select Enable the Group to be a Cluster, and then enter a value from 1 to 100 to calculate a quorum.
The device or group is now a part of the application model with its own child and parent nodes.
If a device or group was deleted from the its source (from Infrastructure Management or from a group created in the console), an unknown node is displayed in a manually created application model. You can delete the node from the model.
This procedure describes how to delete a device or a group from an application model.
If you recreate a deleted device or group, and you use the same name, the existing node is not restored. You must delete the previous node and add the new one.
You can edit an automatically generated application to set Minor and Critical thresholds to comply with service-level agreements (SLAs).
For information, see Configuring event thresholds (SLAs) for automatically discovered applications.
You can edit synthetic transaction configurations for automatically-generated and manually-generated generated applications. You can edit all of the settings such as SLAs, blackout periods, and Execution Plans.
For information, see Editing an application's synthetic settings.