Page tree

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Users tab allows you to add, modify, and delete users. You can use this tab to add multiple users so that they can access the TrueSight IT Data Analytics product as per the permissions that are set.

The user role permissions and the content level access permissions together determine the actions that a user can perform related to viewing, creating, modifying, or deleting data.

This topic contains the following information:

Icons and associated functions on the Users tab

The Users tab allows you to manage users. To access this tab, navigate to Administration > Users. From here, you can perform the following actions:

ActionIconDescription
Add User 

Add a new user.

For more information, see Adding users.

Edit User

Edit the selected user.

Except for the user name, you can modify all other details which you provided while adding a user.

Delete User 

When you delete a user, all objects owned by the user (such as saved searches, notifications, data collectors, and so on) are deleted.

To delete a user, select the user that you want to delete, and click Delete User. Based on whether you want to transfer ownership of the objects, perform one of the following actions:

  • To transfer ownership and delete the user: In the User to transfer ownership to field, specify the name of an existing user to whom you want to transfer ownership of objects, and then and click Delete User.
  • To delete the user without transferring ownership: Leave the User to transfer ownership to field blank and click Delete User.

Notes:

  • Objects can be transferred to only those users who have the same role (or higher role) as that of the user that you want to delete.
  • Data collected from data collectors transferred to the new user is searchable only if the new user is part of the user groups assigned to the data collectors.
Reset Password

Reset the password for the selected user.

For more information, see Resetting passwords for users.

The Users tab provides the following information:

Field

Description

User Name

User name of the user

Name

Full name of the user

Email

Email address of the user

Created On

The date and time at which the user was added to the system

Last Login

The date and time at which the user last logged on to the system

Updated On

The date and time at which the details for the user were last updated

Adding users

To add a user, on the Administration > Users tab, click Add User, provide the following information, and click Create.

Field

Description

User Name

User name for logging on to the system

First Name

First name of the user

Last Name

Last name of the user

Email

Email address of the use. The password details are sent to the email address provided in this field. For the email to be sent successfully, you must have already configured the email setup.

After logging on to the product with the received password, you can change the password.

Available User Groups

List of available user groups that can be added to access the application.

Associate the user with the appropriate user groups by selecting the user groups and clicking Add .

Selected User Groups

List of selected user groups that can access the application.

Change your selection by selecting the irrelevant user groups and clicking Remove .

Resetting passwords for users

To reset passwords for users, on the Administration > Users tab, select a user, click Reset Password , provide the following information, and click Save.

Field

Description

New Password

Enter the new password.

Re-enter New Password

Re-enter the new password.