Unsupported content

 

This version of the product has reached end of support. The documentation is available for your convenience. However, you must be logged in to access it. You will not be able to leave comments.

Retiring, reinstating, or deleting a blueprint

When you no longer want new service offering instances to be created from a blueprint, you can retire or delete that blueprint.

Retiring a blueprint allows existing services and service offerings based on that blueprint to remain functional. Retiring a blueprint does not:

  • Affect any deployed services based on that blueprint.
  • Affect any service offerings referencing that blueprint. Users can continue to request those services.
  • Affect post-deployment options based on that blueprint.

When you retire a blueprint, no new references to it can be made, either in the service catalog or from another blueprint. However, if a blueprint is already being reused when you retire that blueprint, it continues to function correctly for the blueprints reusing the now-retired blueprint. If you decide later that you want to make full use a retired blueprint, you can restore that blueprint.

When you delete a blueprint, it is removed from BMC Cloud Lifecycle Management completely. You cannot delete a blueprint that has active service offering instances. You cannot delete a blueprint that is being reused by another blueprint.

The following BMC Communities video (2:56) describes how to retire, restore, and delete a blueprint.The video also discusses the impact on existing services and offerings.

https://youtu.be/NxXkndiEAmo

To retire a blueprint

  1. In the Blueprint Library on the Service Designer workspace, click the blueprint you want to retire.
  2. Select Blueprint > Retire.
  3. In the confirmation box, click Yes.
    The blueprint is retired.

To restore a retired blueprint

  1. In the Blueprint Library on the Service Designer workspace, select the Show Retired Blueprints checkbox.
  2. Click the blueprint you want to restore.
  3. Select Blueprint > Restore.
    The blueprint is restored.

To delete a blueprint

  1. In the Blueprint Library on the Service Designer workspace, click the blueprint you want to delete.
  2. Select Blueprint > Delete.
  3. In the confirmation box, click Yes.
    The blueprint is deleted from BMC Cloud Lifecycle Management.

Related topics

Creating, copying, or editing a service blueprint
Navigating the Service Designer workspace

This version of the documentation is no longer supported. However, the documentation is available for your convenience. You will not be able to leave comments.

Comments