Default service model data classes

Service model data structures

The service model uses various data structures as data classes. In this documentation, the term class designates the structure definition. The term table is the set of data instances defined for a data class. The following discussions are not intended to represent an exhaustive hierarchy of all classes.

Service model data class overview

There are several types of BAROC classes that are important in the service model, which are as follows:

  • Component data classes–The service model data classes that define the component types typically used by business organizations. These classes are loaded into the Knowledge Base by default.
  • Relationship data class (BMC_Impact)–The data class that defines the different types of relationships that can exist between service components. The only class that exists for impact relationships is BMC_Impact.
  • Service model management classes–The data classes that define the status computation and propagation, and the classes that support the service model event-to-component mapping mechanism. These classes are loaded into the Knowledge Base by default.
  • Event classes–The classes that define the product event types and their behaviors.

Service model data class files

The following table lists the files in which the various data class definitions are located. In addition, each cell has a working Knowledge Base with its class definitions in the installationDirectory\pw\server\etc\cellName\kb\classes directory.

Service management data class files

Data classes

File name




These component types and their subclasses are as follows:

  • BMC_BaseElement
    • BMC_Collection
    • BMC_LogicalEntity
    • BMC_System
    • BMC_SystemComponent
    • BMC_SystemService
    • BMC_Impact



Event and data classes and the enumerations that are the foundation of the solution



Mapping data classes that provide the event-to-component mapping mechanism

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you