PATROL security levels

You can secure the data passed between PATROL components and restrict unauthorized users from accessing your data by implementing PATROL security. You can select from five security levels when you install PATROL. 

Agents, console servers, and consoles must operate at the same security level to communicate with each other. When you install agents, console servers, or consoles that need to communicate with previously installed versions of these components, check the security level of the previously installed components and be sure to install the new ones at the same level. 

For more information about implementing and using PATROL security, refer to the PATROL Security User Guide.

To check security levels

  1. From the command line switch to the path on the computer that you want to check.
    (Windows only) %BMC_ROOT\..\common\security\binOS
    (UNIX only) $BMC_ROOT/../common/security/bin/OS
  2. Run the command esstool policy -a to display the security policy of the current computer.
    The security level is displayed in the "security level" field of the output.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you