Roles and permissions
Track-It! is a HelpDesk application that provides access and permissions control for Self Service users, technicians, and groups.
The following topics are provided:
The following table lists Track-It! roles and license types:
|Track-It! role||Business role||License||Additional information|
|Requestor||End users (Self Service users)||Named||Access to Self Service is controlled through the requestor account settings in configuration. An administrator can grant Self Service access for a specific requestor by selecting the appropriate check box for their account. By default, all requestors have access to their own tickets. Administrators have an option to configure requestors access to allow visibility of tickets submitted by other users for their location or department as well.|
|Technician||HelpDesk agent||Concurrent or Named||All technicians are granted access to the Technician Web Portal. Administrators can deactivate technician accounts to revoke access but yet keep the record in the system for record keeping purposes. Technicians who are assigned the Named license have a dedicated license and can access the Technician Portal at any time. Technicians without a Named license are considered concurrent users and are limited based on the number of concurrent licenses owned. If there are 5 concurrent licenses owned and 5 concurrent technicians logged in, the 6th concurrent technician who tries to log in will be denied access until one of the other concurrent technicians logs out.|
|Administrator||System Administrator||Concurrent or Named||All technicians who have System Administration permission receive full access to the Technician Portal and the Configuration module. It is recommended that the administrator be provided with a Named license to ensure they can always access the system.|
|Group||Collection of Technicians||NA||This role is a logical grouping of technicians. A technician can belong to a single group or multiple groups and can have different permissions for each group. Technician-specific permissions override group-level permissions.|
Track-It! provides permissions to various modules, items, and actions that can be controlled at a Group level or at an individual technician level. The following table lists the Permissions access provided to technicians and groups:
|Item or area|
Permission set for a "Technician" per group
Permission set for a "Group".
|Ticket||X||X||X||X||A best practice is to provide technicians with View permissions|
|Ticket Notes||-||-||X||X||'-' Indicates that the permissions are always in sync with the Ticket Module|
|Assignment||X||X||X||X||A best practice is to provide technicians with View permissions|
|-||-||X||X||'-' Indicates that the permissions are always in sync with the Assignment Module|
|Attachment||X||X||X||X||A best practice is to provide technicians with View permissions|
|X||X||X||X||If View permissions are revoked, Solutions module is not accessible for technicians when they log in with selected group|
|Topic||-||X||X||X||'-' Indicates that the permissions are always in sync with Solution Module|
|Reports||X||X||X||X||If View permissions are revoked, Reports module is not accessible for technicians when they log in with selected group|
|Announcement||X||X||X||X||If View permissions are revoked, announcements are not accessible for technicians when they log in with selected group|
|Requestor||X||X||X||X||It is recommended to provide the View permissions for technicians|
|Configuration||NA||NA||NA||NA||Access to configuration is limited to technicians that have the System Administration permission|
The following table lists activity-specific permissions to technicians and groups:
|HelpDesk Actions||Additional information|
Technicians who have this permission have full access to the Technician Portal and the Configuration section.
Important: This permission is set for individual technicians only.
|Can Close Tickets||Group or a Technician who has this permission can close tickets|
|Can Close Assignments||Group or a Technician who has this permission can close assignments.|
|Close Ticket with linked Assignments||This permissions can be set at a Group level only.|