This documentation supports the 9.0 version of Service Request Management.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Creating inherent group mappings

You can select a group to be an Approval group, and then you can select a functional role for the approval (for example, Request Approver). This combination limits the individual approval entries to the Inherent Group.

To create inherent group mappings

  1. From the Application Administration Console, click the Custom Configuration tab.
  2. From the Application Settings list, choose Service Request Management > Approval > Approval Mappings, and click Open.
  3. In the Approval For field, select Inherent Group/Role.
    The Approval Mappings form is redisplayed so that the fields to configure a group mapping appear.
  4. In the Inherent Group field, select a service request management group.
  5. In the Functional Role field, select one of the functional roles defined for service request management (for example, Request Approver).
    Make sure that you select an inherent group that includes people with the functional role.
  6. In the Approval Indicator field, select which form this approver mapping will affect (for example, Service Request).
  7. In the Phase Name field, select which approval phase needs mapping in the application (for example, Service Request - Level).
    When you select a phase name, the Phase Company field is automatically populated.
  8. Do not create any other mappings for now.
    For example, let the Level field setting remain as 0.
  9. Save the approver mapping.
    If you disabled the individual approver mappings and you did not modify the default approval configuration settings, the service request cannot be moved from the Waiting Approval status until this inherent group/role approves the request.


    To create a multiple-level inherent group approver mapping, you could create another inherent group approver mapping for another inherent group and set the Level setting to 1. After the first inherent group (level 0) approves the service request, the second level of approvers (level 1) must approve the service request before it can be moved to the next stage.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you