Import data options
When you perform an import from the Import Export Console, you can select from the following options:
If you are importing only supporting data, only the following options are available:
- Merge data
- Import new definitions only (if existing definitions found, cancel import)
- Import new definitions only (skip duplicates)
When you select this option, the following changes take place during the import process:
- Objects that exist on the server are updated.
- Objects that do not exist on the server are created.
- Child objects not included in the .arx file are deleted on the server.
- The status of the related target SRD automatically changes to Draft. You must manually change the status of the target SRD after the import process is complete.
Parent objects are not deleted; only child objects that are directly related to one parent are deleted. This limitation means that SRDs, PDTs, AOTs, and application templates are not deleted. Only their relationships are deleted.
For example, if you delete a question from an SRD before performing an export, the question is deleted from the corresponding SRD on the import server. However, if you delete an SRD, PDT, or AOT from the export server, that same object is preserved on the import server.
If you select the Merge data option and your .arx file contains updates to SRDs, you must also select one of the following options:
- Update service requests in the cart and change the status to Waiting Approval
- Do not update service requests
These options are available because changes to SRD questions during import might affect service requests that are in the cart or that have the status of Waiting Approval. You can choose to update the service requests, or you can leave them unchanged even if the SRD questions have been updated.
Your choice does not affect service requests that are in Draft status. When you attempt to complete Draft requests, the latest questions are displayed.
If you choose Update service requests, the following changes take place after the import is completed:
- Requests in the cart:
- The cart is marked as Not Ready.
- A notification is sent to the submitter, asking them to review the service request again.
- Requests with Waiting Approval status:
- Approvals are canceled.
- The service request status changes to Draft.
- The Needs Attention flag is set.
- Notifications are sent to the submitter and the assigned approver.
Import new definitions only (if existing definitions found, cancel import)
If the import operation finds existing definitions, an error is reported and the data cannot be promoted.
Import new definitions only (skip duplicates)
If the import operation finds existing definitions, the import operation continues but skips any duplicates. For example, if you are importing an SRD that is already existing, the SRD is not imported and none of the objects such as questions, are updated. If the SRD does not exist on the target system, the SRD is imported.
Import all definitions as new (rename all by adding a prefix to name)
If duplicates are found, the import operation renames definitions by adding a prefix or version number to the object names. The prefix you specify is limited to 19 characters. Imported objects can include an optional version level, as you manage the development, test, and production life cycles. For example, you might specify 00.80 for Beta, or 01.00 for first rollout to customers.
The Import all definitions as new import option is not supported for SRDs that reference application templates such as work order templates, incident templates, or change templates.
Apply the imported definitions to a different company
If you select this option, the Company field appears, listing all companies available on the import system.
If you are importing SRDs and supporting data together to a new company, note the following details and exceptions:
- Categories — Matching categories are created for the new company if they do not exist. If they exist, SRDs are tied to them and point to the existing categories.
- Surveys — Matching surveys are created for the new company if they do not exist. If they exist, SRDs are tied to them and point to the existing surveys.
- Entitlement Rules — Entitlement rules are not copied to the new company.
- Field values in the SRD — After the import process, values for the original company are retained for the following information. However, you can manually update these values in the Service Request tab in the SRD.
- Request Catalog Manager
- Service Request Coordinator
Permission Groups— Permission Groups (along with their corresponding People) are not copied to the new company.
For access permissions groups that are included in an entitlement definition, a warning is issued if a matching permission group for the new company is found. The warning states:
The import process has encountered a warning. The entitlement group has been skipped, since the definitions are being applied to the new company. The import process has found the entitlement group that matches the new company and updated the related People Entitlement Definitions.
- Packages — Matching packages are created for the new company if they do not exist. If they exist, SRDs are tied to them and point to the existing packages.
- SRD Level — Matching SRD levels are created for the new company if they do not exist. If they exist, SRDs are tied to them and point to the existing SRD levels.
- Templates — Matching templates are created for the new company if they do not exist. If they exist, SRDs are tied to them and point to the existing templates.