This documentation supports the 18.08 version of Service Request Management.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Process types

BMC Service Request Management provides the following approval process types:

  • Ad Hoc
  • Level

These process types are used in the following default processes on the Approval Process Configuration form:

  • Service Request Definition - Ad Hoc—The SYSTEM PHASE Ad Hoc approval process for SRDs. This process provides routing authority to each approver without requiring the administrator to create approver mappings for every individual or role. The Service Catalog Manager is the first approver. The first approver must specify the next approvers before approving the catalog offering.
    By default, the status of this approval process is Enabled.
  • Service Request Definition - Level—Uses the data configured in the Approval Mappings form to determine approvers. For more information, see Creating approver mappings.
    By default, the status of this approval process is Offline.

These "best practice" processes are based on sample data like companies and support groups provided in the Foundation. There is no separate configuration data for approvers. You can modify the sample processes, or inactivate them and create approval processes and rules based on your business needs.

Best practice

Do not enable both SRD approval processes at the same time; otherwise, your SRD approvals will not work as described. If you want to modify the default approval settings, enable only one SRD approval process and set the other to Offline.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you