This documentation supports the 20.08 version of Remedy Smart Reporting, which is available only to BMC Helix subscribers (SaaS).

To view an earlier version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Connecting with other users to view their activity on the timeline

The Connections panel in the timeline provides an interface for you to connect with other users in Remedy Smart Reporting. When you connect to other users, you can see their activity on your timeline, post to their timeline, and interact with them. By default, you are not connected to any users; however, you can find and add new connections. If other users set their timelines as private, you can send connection requests, and they must approve your requests before you can view their timelines.

ActionDescriptionSteps

Create a new connection

Note: If other users set their timelines as private, when you connect to them, they must approve your connection request. Until they approve your request, they will appear in your connections list with a Pending label.

  1. On the Timeline, click the Members icon () in the toolbar at the top of the window.
  2. On the Connections panel, locate the user.
    Click the filter icon () if you do not see the user you are looking for.
  3. Click Follow next to the user's name.

Approve a connection request

If you set your timeline as private, other users cannot connect with you directly. When they connect with you, you receive an approval notification through your timeline. You can approve their request so that they can see your activity. Users cannot view your timeline until you approve their connection request, and your connection will be marked with a Pending label in their timeline.

When you approve the connection request, your timeline displays the connection event.

Note: Upon approving a connection request, you are added as a connection on the other user's Connections tab. Your Connections tab does not add the user automatically; you must add the user as a connection separately.

Navigate to your timeline, click the down arrow  on the connection notification, and select Approve.

Reject a connection request

If you set your timeline as private, other users cannot connect with you directly. When they connect with you, you receive an approval notification through your timeline. You can reject connection requests from users you do not want to connect with, so that they cannot see your activity.

When you reject a connection request, your timeline displays the connection event. The user requesting the connection also receives a notification on their timeline to inform them that the request was rejected.

Navigate to your timeline, click the down arrow  on the connection notification, and select Reject.

Remove an existing connection

You can remove connections with users you no longer want to remain connected to. When you remove a connection with a user, the user can no longer view your timeline if you have set your timeline as private. 
  1. On the Timeline, click the Members icon () in the toolbar at the top of the window.
  2. On the Connections panel, locate the user you want to remove.
  3. Click the menu icon () next to the user's name, and select Disconnect.
  4. From the confirmation message, click Unfollow.

Where to go from here

Viewing and joining discussions

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments