This documentation supports the 22.1 version of BMC Helix ITSM: Smart IT. To view an earlier version, select the version from the Product version menu.

The documentation for BMC Helix ITSM 23.3.00 has changed. To understand the changed documentation structure see, Where did the Smart IT documentation go? Open link  

Smart IT asset types and sub types

BMC Helix ITSM provides a number of asset types and sub types for creating an asset. Each asset sub type relates to an existing BMC Helix CMDB class. The existing asset classes and sub classes have been reorganized in BMC Helix ITSM: Smart IT to provide a more logically grouped set of asset types and sub types. This makes it easier for users to use these sub types when creating or filtering asset data.

The following table lists the available asset types and sub types in Smart IT:

Asset Type

Asset Sub Types

Business Service
  • Business Service
Computer System
  • Computer System
  • Mainframe
  • Printer
  • Equipment
  • CDROM Drive
  • Card
  • Chassis
  • Database Storage
  • Disk Drive
  • Floppy Drive
  • Hardware Package
  • Hardware System Component
  • Keyboard
  • Local File System
  • Media
  • Memory
  • Monitor
  • Pointing Device
  • Processor
  • Rack
  • Remote File System
  • Resource Pool
  • System Resource
  • Tape Drive
  • UPS
  • Admin Domain
  • Cluster
  • Communication Endpoint
  • Connectivity Collection
  • Connectivity Segment
  • IP Connectivity Subnet
  • IP Endpoint
  • IPX Connectivity Network
  • LAN Endpoint
  • LNs Collection
  • Local Area Network (LAN)
  • NT Domain
  • Network Port
  • Protocol Endpoint
  • Wide Area Network (WAN)
  • Account
  • Activity
  • Business Process
  • Concrete Collection
  • Document
  • Logical System Component
  • Physical Location
  • Role
  • Service Offering Instance
  • Transaction
  • Application
  • Application Infrastructure
  • Application Service
  • Application System
  • BIOS Element
  • Database
  • Disk Partition
  • File System
  • Operating System
  • Package
  • Patch
  • Product
  • Resource Allocation Setting Data
  • Share
  • Software Server
  • System Software
  • Virtual System Enabler
  • Virtual System Setting Data


  • Custom sub-classes that you create are listed in the sub-type list of the parent asset type. For example, any custom sub-class created for a Printer in BMC Helix CMDB, will be available for selection in the Computer System sub-types list.
  • A custom class or a new custom sub-class (added under the custom class) is available for selection under the Others Asset Type list.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you