Note

 

This documentation supports the 20.15.02 version of Remedyforce.

To view the latest documentation, click

Closing tasks

BMC recommends that you do not edit the fields on a closed task. You can edit the link records of the linked objects. However, you cannot link another record by using the New Link button or create and link another record by using the Create and Link button.

The following table lists what actions you can perform or not perform in the record details of a closed record:

Related List

Edit link in the Action column

Delete link in the Action column

New <Link/Action> Buttons

Action History

Allowed

Not Allowed

Not Allowed

Linked Services and CIs

Allowed

Not Allowed

Not Allowed

To close a task

  1. Click the Remedyforce Console tab.
  2. From the View menu, select Tasks.
  3. From the list of tasks, select the task that you want to close.
  4. From the Actions menu, select Close.
  5. Enter the required details in the Close Task window.
    The following table lists the fields on the Close Task window.

    Field

    Action required

    Closed Date

    The Closed Date field filled with the current date and time.

    Category

    The Category field is filled with the category that is entered in the Task form. If the original category is incorrect or no longer applies, select the required category from the Category field.

    Closed By

    Select the staff member who has worked on the task. By default, this field displays the Staff ID of the currently logged-on staff member. If you are closing the task on behalf of a staff member, select the staff member who has worked on the task.

    Status

    Select a close status. By default, this field is filled with the default close status that is configured by the system administrator. If required, you can select a different close status. All status records with the state of Close are displayed in the Status list.

    Closure Category

    Select the category that suggests the reason for closing the record.

    Resolution

    Type the resolution of the task. By default, this field is filled with the value of the Resolution field in the task form. You can modify this field to include the confirmed resolution of the task or any new steps taken to resolve the task.

    Description

    To add the contents of the Task form Description field as a new standard description for the category of this task, select the Update Standard Description check box. You might need to add a new standard description to describe a frequently occurring issue that belongs to the category of the current task.

    Update Standard Resolution

    To add the contents of the task form Resolution field as a new standard resolution for the standard description of the issue, select the Update Standard Resolution check box. You might need to add this resolution for the standard description of this task because it provides the information to resolve the task or it might be an alternate method of resolving the task.

  6. Click Save.

    Note

    This procedure describes the out-of-the-box fields only. If your system administrator has added or removed fields, complete all the fields on the form.

    If the system administrator has activated the Notify the client when a task is closed workflow, an email message is sent to the client of the task when you close the task. If you select a lead as the client of the task, no email message is sent.

    To send an email message to the owner of a change request or the staff member or queue to whom an incident is assigned, notifying that the last task associated with the change request or incident is closed, contact your system administrator to activate the Notify change request owner when final task linked to change request is closed or Notify incident owner when final task linked to incident is closed workflow.

    To send an email message to the incident, problem, or release owner when each linked task is closed, contact your system administrator to activate the required workflow from the following list:

    • Notify incident owner when each linked task is closed
    • Notify problem owner when each linked task is closed
    • Notify release owner when each linked task is closed

Closing a record without filling details

To close a record without filling in details, such as closed by, description, resolution, and so on, select Quick Close from the Actions menu.

Related topics

Configuring fields on the Close form

Configuring workflows

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments