Accepting, transferring, and closing chat sessions
As a support agent, you can accept multiple chat sessions by selecting the issue description or question provided by the user. Each chat session opens in the center pane, and you can switch between chats as needed. You can also access the end user's desktop through a remote-control screen sharing session from Live Chat to resolve the issue raised by the user. During a chat session, you can also request supervisor assistance for the chat.
You can accept two types of chat sessions:
- New chat sessions
When a user initiates a fresh chat session, the session is displayed on the Queue tab.
- Transferred chat sessions
When a support agent transfers a sessions, it is displayed on the Transferred tab.
You can see transferred chat sessions belonging to your support queue only.
The Transferred tab is displayed only when a support agent transfers a chat sessions to another agent.
Transferring a chat
Support agents can transfer a chat to another agent belonging to the same support queue or release a chat session for reassignment. Administrators can enable the Agent Auto Accept option so that chat sessions are routed automatically to agents.
The following table describes how transferring a chat session works when an administrator enables or disables the Agent Auto Accept option:
If Agent Auto Accept is enabled
If Agent Auto Accept is disabled
|Agent transfers a chat session to another agent|
The agent to whom the chat is transferred can accept any number of chats from the Transferred queue.
The agent to whom the chat is transferred can accept any number of chats from the Queue and Transferred queues.
|Agent transfers a chat session to a support queue|
The chat is assigned to any agent in that queue depending on the agent's load.
|The transferred chat appears in the Queue list of all agents present in this support queue and any of them can accept it.|
Agent transfers a chat session to another agent
When an agent transfers an active chat session to another agent belonging to the same support queue, the status of the chat is changed to Pending Transfer To. The chat is removed from My Chats list of the agent who initiated the transfer and appears on the Transferred list of the agent to whom the chat is transferred.
The list of support agents is displayed as follows:
- Support queue is General and Company filter is not enabled—A list of all online agents is displayed.
- Support queue is General and Company filter is enabled—A list of all online agents from the specified Company to which the end user belongs is displayed.
- Support queue is not General and Company filter is not enabled—A list of all online agents belonging to the support queue, irrespective of the Company, is displayed.
Support queue is not General and Company filter is enabled—A list of all online agents belonging to the support queue and company of the end user is displayed.
Administrators can enable the Company filter by selecting Virtual Chat Administration Console > Integrations > Incident Management > Chat Queue Assignment > Company.
Agent transfers a chat session to a support queue
When a chat is directly transferred to a support queue, the status of the chat changes to Queue and it is removed from My Chats list of the agent who initiated the transfer. The support queue of the chat is updated with the new queue name. The transferred chat appears in the Queue list of all agents present in this support queue and any of them can accept it.
During this course of transfer, the entire chat history is preserved and the user is notified accordingly.
You can transfer an active chat to a support queue only when the Support Queues and Use Topics options are enabled in the Virtual Chat Administration Console.
To learn more about how automatic assignment of chats work, see Automatic assignment of incoming chats.
To accept chat sessions
- From your application home page, click Live Chat.
- To accept a chat session, click one of the following options:
- Queue—A new chat session initiated by a user.
- Transferred—A chat session transferred by an agent.
- From the chat queue, select the chat you want to accept.
You can view the chat history. If you are accepting a chat that is transferred, the chat history along with notes of the agent who handled this case previously is displayed. The user receives notification that you are online.
You can view the customer contact and site information, company name, tickets, and assets on the Customer Information tab.
You can view the outages, templates, and knowledge articles on the Resources tab.
- Click Accept.
You can view your accepted chats on the My chats tab.
To request supervisor assistance during a chat session
- From the Chat Actions list, click Need Assistance.
In the agent console, a red flag is displayed on the banner, beside Total Time.
- To remove the request for assistance, from the Chat Actions list, click Remove assistance.
To transfer a chat to another agent or a support queue
- From Chat Actions list, click Transfer.
The Transfer Chat dialog box opens, displaying a list of all online agents or a list of support queues.
- (Optional) To add notes for the agent to whom you want to transfer the chat, type your message in the Side Notes field.
- Click the agent name or the queue to which you want to transfer the chat session.
- Click Transfer.
To release a chat session
From Chat Actions list, click Release.
The user is notified that the support agent has released the ticket for reassignment. After releasing a chat session, the chat session goes to the Queue. The next available support agent accepts the chat session just as with any other new chat session. The entire chat history and notes are preserved and appear in the chat pane.
To close a chat session
Support agents can close a chat session in the following scenarios:
- When the chat ends.
- When an end user cancels the live chat request.
End users can cancel their request for live chat at any point during the chat. After the request is cancelled, the following message is displayed for the agent:
End user has cancelled chat.
If the end user cancels a chat that is assigned to an agent, the chat status remains in the Assigned state. The assigned canceled chats continue to appear on the agent console.
If the end user cancels a chat that is not assigned to an agent, it is marked as closed.
The support agent can use any of the following appropriate actions to close the chat session:
Remove a chat session from the chat queue and close the chat when the session is complete or the issue is resolved.
The user is notified when that chat session is ended.
Click End Chat.
If a user leaves a chat session, you can mark the session as abandoned and end the chat.
You are prompted to mark the session as abandoned if a ticket has not been created. If a ticket is created, the status of the ticket is changed to Cancelled before marking the session as abandoned.
From the Chat Actions list, click Abandon, and then OK.