This documentation supports the 9.1 version of Knowledge Management.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Knowledge life cycle management

The BMC Knowledge Management authoring process allows authorized users to create knowledge articles and manage the knowledge article life cycle within a defined sequence of stages, (for example, In Progress, Draft, SME Review, Optional Review 1, Optional Review 2, Publish Approval, Published, Retire Approval, Retired, Closed Version, Cancelled).

BMC Knowledge Management enables users to define the different life cycle stages and the available list of stages that a knowledge article can switch to from a given stage.

When switching between stages, BMC Knowledge Management routes the article to the next assignee using the BMC Remedy Assignment Engine. This is performed by analyzing pre-defined routing rules that are based on the company that the article belongs to and the article categorization.

Some stages, such as Publish and Retire, may require an approval process. BMC Knowledge Management uses the BMC Remedy Approval Server to define approval workflow for these stages.

Related topic

Status types

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you


  1. Leonard Warren

    The other state that requires approval is Cancel. But that status is not available in Digital Workplace but it is available on the back end of Knowledge Management.

    Jan 05, 2018 08:21
    1. Mokshada Shivarekar

      Hello Leonard,

      Thank you for your comment. I will update the content and write back to you.



      Jan 08, 2018 12:00
    1. Surabhee Kulkarni

      Hello Leonard,

      Thank you for your comment and sorry for the delay in responding. I have added all the status types and also provided a related topic link to the detailed description page.

      Thanks and regards,

      Mar 17, 2020 02:15