Revising knowledge articles
When new knowledge articles are created, they are automatically designated as version 1. This version number remains unchanged throughout the article's lifecycle, until the article is published. The version is displayed in the Article field that is displayed when articles are opened.
The revision process begins when a Published article needs modifications. Revising enables you to create a duplicate copy of the Published article, which is created as a Draft article, and work on it without changing the original. The changed article is automatically assigned a new version number, indicating that the original article has been changed and that the current version is the most recent one. The current version number is automatically incremented by 1 for the Draft article. Only one Draft version can exist per article at any given time.
Until the Draft article is published, the Published article from which the new Draft version was created remains in Published status, and can be searched and viewed until the new version is published. When published, the new version replaces the previously Published article, which is then assigned a Closed status.
A Draft version can also be created from a Closed version if the closed version was in Draft. Closed articles can only be accessed from the Revisions link that is available through the Published article.
You can modify the following information for Published articles without having to create a new version:
- Internal use
- Assigned group
- Update request
- Article status
- Article relationship
- Owner group
- Next review date
To create a new version from a Published article
- Open an article.
- Click New Version.
- Click Yes to continue.
- Click OK.
- Make the appropriate changes to the article, and click Save.
The new version is now in Draft status.