This documentation supports the 9.1 version of Remedy IT Service Management Suite.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Permission groups and application access

In BMC Remedy ITSM Suite, the permission groups control what areas of the application a user can access. Each permission group can access only certain areas of the application. A user can belong to more than one permission group.

Typically, you assign permissions groups to the users in your IT organization based on their roles and responsibilities. The combinations suggested in the following topics are defined by ITIL as typical and are used by the BMC Service Management Process Model.

The topics in this section recommend how to map permission groups to people, based on their role.

Key permission groups

When you assign permissions to someone, it is important to use only the minimum number of permissions that allow that person to perform their job.


Use only one permission group for any given role.

The following table illustrates the most commonly used permission groups needed by users to perform their duties. For a detailed description of all of the permission groups that are available for a particular application, click the link in the Application column.

Key user permission groups for each application


Key permission groups

BMC Asset Management

  • Asset Admin or Asset User
  • Contract Admin or Viewer
  • Purchasing User
  • Receiving User

BMC Change Management

Infrastructure Change Master, User or Viewer

Release Management

Release Master, User or Viewer

BMC Service Desk: Incident Management

Incident Master, User, or Viewer

BMC Service Desk: Problem Management

Problem Master, User or Viewer

BMC Service Request Management

  • Business Manager
  • Service Request User
  • Work Order Master

BMC Knowledge Management

Knowledge Admin, User or Viewer

Task Management

Task User (This is only required in certain permission combinations.

The remaining permissions control access to the application configuration functions and are typically assigned either to an Application Administrator or an Application Process Owner. These permissions are described in the following table:

Administration and process owner permissions


Application Administrator/Process Owner permissions

BMC Asset Management

  • Asset Config
  • Contract Config

BMC Change Management

  • Change Config

Release Management

  • Release Config

BMC Service Desk: Incident Management

  • Incident Config

BMC Service Desk: Problem Management

  • Problem Config

BMC Service Request Management

  • Business Analyst
  • Entitlement Administrator
  • Request Catalog Manager
  • SRM Administrator
  • Work Order Config

Requester console

  • Requester Console Config
  • Requester Console Master
  • Summary Definition Config

BMC Knowledge Management

  • Knowledge Config


  • Activity Config


  • Cost Manager


  • Approval Admin
  • ASE-Administrator
  • Command Event Master
  • Config Categorization Admin
  • Config Categorization User
  • Config Group Mapping Admin
  • Contact Location Admin
  • Contact Organization Admin
  • Contact Support Admin
  • Contact People Admin
  • Contact People HR Admin
  • Contact People User
  • DSL Master
  • Licensing
  • Notification Admin
  • Security

Return on Investment

  • ROI Admin

Task Management

  • Task Administrator
  • Task Application Config
  • Task Process Config

BMC Helix Cognitive Automation

(9.1.04 and later)

  • Cognitive Service Config
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you


  1. Steven Casey

    Would like to see reference here on how to create a new permission group

    Mar 30, 2018 11:37
    1. Jyoti Nerkar

      Hello Steven,

      You can refer the following article-



      Sep 19, 2018 03:07