Connecting with other users in BMC Remedy Smart Reporting
The Connections tab in the BMC Remedy Smart Reporting timeline provides an interface for you to connect with other users in BMC Remedy Smart Reporting. When you connect to other users, you can see their activity on your timeline, post to their timeline, and interact with them. By default, you are not connected to any users; however, you can find and add new connections. If other users set their timelines as private, you must send connection requests, and they must approve your requests before you can view their timelines. You can also remove any existing connections.
|Creating a new connection|
By default, you are not connected to other users. You can connect to other users from the Connections tab by using the following methods:
The Suggested list appears until you search for a user from the Search box. When you type a user name in the Search box, the Suggested list is replaced with the search results.
Note: If other users set their timelines as private, when you connect to them, they must approve your connection request. Until they approve your request, they will appear in your connections list with a Pending label.
|Approving a connection request|
If you set your timeline as private, other users cannot connect with you directly. When they connect with you, you receive an approval notification through your timeline. You can approve their request so that they can see your activity. Users cannot view your timeline until you approve their connection request, and your connection will be marked with a Pending label in their timeline.
When you approve the connection request, your timeline displays the connection event.
Note: Upon approving a connection request, you are added as a connection on the other user's Connections tab. Your Connections tab does not add the user automatically; you must add the user as a connection separately.
|Navigate to your timeline, click the down arrow on the connection notification, and select Approve.|
|Rejecting a connection request|
If you set your timeline as private, other users cannot connect with you directly. When they connect with you, you receive an approval notification through your timeline. You can reject connection requests from users you do not want to connect with, so that they cannot see your activity.
When you reject a connection request, your timeline displays the connection event. The user requesting the connection also receives a notification on their timeline to inform them that the request was rejected.
|Navigate to your timeline, click the down arrowon the connection notification, and select Reject.|
|Removing an existing connection||You can remove connections with users you no longer want to remain connected to. When you remove a connection with a user, the user can no longer view your timeline if you have set your timeline as private.||Navigate to the Connections tab, click Remove this connectionon a user thumbnail, and confirm the removal.|