This documentation supports the 9.1 version of Remedy IT Service Management Suite.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Configuring Data Management application preferences

You can configure specific Data Management preferences so that they are enabled by default for all of your dataload jobs. You do not need to set these values for each record individually when you create steps.

To configure application preferences

  1. From the Applications list on the IT Home page, select Data Management > Job Console.
  2. From the navigation pane on the Job Console, select Other Functions > Application Preferences.
  3. Select the Data Management tab.
  4. In the Application Preferences dialog box, you can choose to customize the following fields based on the task to be performed:
FieldValue
Create new records or update existing records on the target forms
Create only
  • Yes
    To create only new records on the target form and not update the existing records. If you select this option, the system creates only new records by default. Staging form records that already exist in the target forms or on the same staging form are flagged as errors and should be corrected.
  • No
    If  you select this option, the Validate step runs in update mode. The system creates new records in the target applications and does not mark duplicate records as errors. The data is pushed in the target forms and updated.
  • Template Value
    This value sets the Create Only flag on your job to match the setting for this flag on the template you used to create the job.

Note: Certain forms allow you to only create records and not to update records on the target forms, regardless of whether you select Create Only. For a complete list of these forms, see List of Create Only forms.

Add or remove wait flag for a step

Job Wait

  • Auto Validate - Auto Promote
    By default, the job does not have a wait flag at either the Validate or the Promote step.
  • Manual Validate - Auto Promote
    This value sets a wait flag for the Promote step by default. However, the Validate step does not have a wait flag set by default.
  • Auto Validate - Manual Promote
    This value sets a wait flag for the Validate step by default. However, the Promote step does not have a wait flag set by default.
  • Manual Validate - Manual Promote
    By default, the job has a wait flag at either the Validate or the Promote step.
  • Template Value
    This option sets wait flags for the Validate and Promote steps to match the wait flags used by your job template by default.

Note: When you set a wait flag for a step, the step stays in progress and does not run until the wait flag is removed. For information about removing the wait flag, see Running a job. You cannot set wait flags for the Load step.

Set time period to clean up the processed data after job completion

Note: If the existing default values are modified for a user record before the system is upgraded to 9.1.03, the system continues to use these as default values for that user after the upgrade and does not set the new default values.

However, if a user does not have a previous record in the system or has not modified the default values before upgrading to 9.1.03, the system sets the new default values for that user record after upgrade.

Keep Promoted Staging Records

To retain the promoted staging records in the database, enter the number of days after job completion. After this time period, an escalation will remove all promoted staging data. The default values are as follows:

  • Version 9.1.02 and earlier: 14 days.
  • Version 9.1.03 and later: 7 days.
Notify before deleting Non-promoted

To notify the job owner before deleting non-promoted data from the database, enter the number of days after job completion in which to do the notification. The data will be deleted from your staging form 7 days after the notification. The default values are as follows:

  •  Version 9.1.02 and earlier: 60 days.
  • Version 9.1.03 and later: 30 days.
Delete Job and Steps after

To delete jobs and steps from the database, enter the number of days after job completion. The default values are:

  • Version 9.1.02 and earlier: 365 days.
  • Version 9.1.03 and later: 60 days.


Best Practice

  • BMC recommends that you do not change the settings for the Create Only and Job Wait field in the Application Preferences form when you are using out-of-the-box BMC templates.
    You can choose change these settings later, when you customize your own job templates. For information about customizing templates, see Creating customized jobs.
  • While setting up a time period for cleanup of processed data:
    • BMC recommends that you provide just enough time to ensure proper promotion of your data.
    • To reduce the amount of data that is stored after a dataload job is completed, BMC recommends that you use the default values for 9.1.03 and later.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments