This documentation supports the 9.0 version of Remedy IT Service Management Suite.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Configuring Data Management application preferences

You can configure specific Data Management preferences so that they are enabled by default for all of your dataload jobs. You do not need to set these values for each record individually when you create steps.

To configure application preferences

  1. From the Applications list on the IT Home page, select Data Management > Job Console.
  2. From the navigation pane on the Job Console, select Other Functions > Application Preferences.
  3. Select the Data Management tab.
  4. In the Application Preferences dialog box, you can choose to customize the following features:
    • Create only
      You can select from the following choices:
      • Select Yes if you only want new data to be created and you do not want existing records to be updated. Once you select Create Only, only new records are created for the target applications by default. Staging form records that already exist in the target applications or on the same staging form are flagged as errors and should be corrected.
      • Select No to run the validate steps in update mode. New records are created in the target applications, duplicate records are not flagged as errors, and the data is pushed to the target applications, effectively updating it. 
      • Select Template Value to set the Create Only flag on your job to match the setting for this flag on the template you used to create the job.

        Note

        The following forms will allow you to create records and will not update records in the target forms whether or not Create Only is selected:

        • APR:LoadSignature
        • CFG:LoadBusinessTimeHolidays
        • CFG:LoadReminders
        • CHG:LoadInfrastructureChange
        • CHG:LoadImpactedAreas
        • CHG:LoadWorkLog
        • CTM:LoadPeopleWorkLog
        • CTM:LoadSGPOnCall
        • CTM:LoadSupportGroupAlias
        • CTR:LoadContract_Relationship
        • CTR:LoadWorkLog
        • FIN:LoadCosts
        • FIN:LoadPayments
        • HPD:LoadHelpDesk
        • HPD:LoadImpactedAreas
        • HPD:LoadTemplate
        • HPD:LoadTemplateAssociations
        • HPD:LoadWorkLog
        • PBM:LoadImpactedAreas
        • PBM:LoadInvestigationWorkLog
        • PBM:LoadKnownErrorWorkLog
        • PBM:LoadSolutionDBAlias
        • PBM:LoadSolutionWorkLog
        • PCT:LoadProdCatAliasMapping
        • SHR:LoadAssociations
        • TMS:LoadAssignmentConfig
        • TMS:LoadAssociationTemplate
        • TMS:LoadFlowTemplate
        • TMS:LoadVariableMapping
        • TMS:LoadWorkInfo

        You can choose to change this selection later when you create individual steps for jobs. For information about creating steps, see Creating customized jobs.

    • Job Wait
      When a wait flag is set for a step, the step stays in progress and does not run until the wait flag is removed by the user. For information about removing the wait flag, see Running a job.
      You can choose to change this selection later when you create individual steps for jobs. For information about creating steps, see Creating customized jobs.
      You can choose from the following:

      • Auto Validate - Auto Promote, which means that by default the job will not wait at either the Validate or Promote step
      • Manual Validate - Auto Promote, which means that all Validate steps are created with a wait flag set by default. Promote wait flags are not set by default
      • Auto Validate - Manual Promote, which means that all Promote steps are created with a wait flag set by default. Validate wait flags are not set by default
      • Manual Validate - Manual Promote, which means that all Validate and Promote steps have the wait flag set by default
      • Template Value, which means that wait flags are set for the Validate and Promote steps to match the wait flags used by your job's template by default

        Note

        You cannot set a wait flag for Load steps.

    • Keep Promoted Staging Records
      Enter the number of days from job completion that your promoted staging records should remain in your database. After this time period, an escalation removes all promoted staging data. BMC recommends that you provide just enough time to ensure proper promotion of your data and that this should be less than two weeks.
    • Notify before deleting Non-promoted
      Enter the number of days after job completion until the owner of job is notified concerning non-promoted data. The actual data will be deleted from your database seven days after the notification. BMC recommends that you enter 60 days.
    • Delete Job and Steps after
      Enter the number of days after job completion until jobs and steps are deleted from your database. BMC recommends that you enter 365 days in case old jobs are required as templates.
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments