This documentation supports the 21.3 version of BMC Helix ITSM.

To view an earlier version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Mapping roles to permission groups

As an administrator, you should map roles to permission groups in the BMC Helix ITSM applications. Permissions are enabled for a user by mapping the physical permission groups that are provided with the BMC Helix ITSM applications to the roles that the permission groups need to belong to. This mapping enables applications outside of the BMC Helix ITSM to integrate with BMC Helix ITSM applications and modules.

Customers can also build their own sets of permissions groups to map into the applications and modules.

Mapping Service Level Management roles to permissions

The following table shows which BMC Service Level Management user roles map to which permission groups:


Permission groups

Application Administrator

SLM Config

Service Level Manager

SLM Manager

SLM Data Viewer

SLM Console and Dashboards User
SLM AdministratorSLM Unrestricted Manager

SLM Customer Dashboard Viewer

SLM Customer
SLM Report UserReporting User and Reporting Administrator


AR Administrator

Mapping Knowledge Management roles to permissions

The following table maps BMC Helix ITSM: Knowledge Management user roles and KCS user roles to permission groups:


Permission groups

BMC Knowledge Management user roles

Knowledge Manager

Knowledge Admin

Knowledge Subject Matter Expert (SME)

Knowledge User

Knowledge Application Administrator

Knowledge Config
KCS user roles supported in BMC Knowledge Management
KCS CandidateKCS Candidate
KCS ContributorKCS Contributor
KCS PublisherKCS Publisher
KCS CoachKCS Coach
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you