This documentation supports the 18.05 version of Remedy IT Service Management Suite.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Content categories

BMC Remedy Smart Reporting stores all content, like Reports, Dashboard tabs, and Storyboards in a two tier folder structure - Categories and Sub Categories.

  • Categories are used to hold and split Sub Categories into grouping. They are container folders and do not contain the actual content.
  • Sub Categories are located within a defined Category and are used to store content with specified function and access permissions.

Content Categories can be managed by a BMC Remedy Smart Reporting Administrator through the Smart Reporting Administration Console. Out-of-the-box all Content Categories are Unsecured, and all users can access the content. You can however, manually restrict access to a content category.

This topic discusses the following:

Accessing Content Category options

To access Content Categories:

  1. Log on to the BMC Remedy Mid-Tier as a BMC Remedy Smart Reporting administrator.
  2. From the Applications menu, choose Smart Reporting > Smart Reporting Console.
  3. From the BMC Remedy Smart Reporting console, choose Administration > Admin Console.
    Expand the Content Categories section to view all the available options.

Creating a category and adding sub categories

To create a Content Category or Sub Category:

  1. Click the Add button under the Content Categories list.
  2. Define the following on the Category set up page:

    Folder NameName for the category that will be displayed in the system when saving and viewing content.
    DescriptionShort description for the category, which can be used to define its intended purpose and audience
    LevelSet to Category by default.
    Select Sub Category if you have already created the Category.
    Category levels need to be created before defining any Sub Categories.
    Parent CategoryIf you are creating a Sub Category, select the parent Category from this list
    Draft Content StorageEach category can have one default Draft sub category which will contain all the draft content until it is moved to a different sub category by the content writer.
    This is used to keep all draft contain in one place, making system organization easier.
    Sort OrderSet to 0 by default.
    Enter a numeric value if you want the categories to be displayed in a specific order instead of alphabetically
    StatusDraft — Only accessible to administrators and cannot be used for storage. Set to this status when Category is still being set up
    Active — Set to this status to make the category available to all users you provided access to
  3. Click Save to complete the Category.

  4. After you create the categories, you can go ahead and add Sub Categories to it.
    After you define a Sub Category level, update the content settings which only relate to the sub categories. Category level does not contain any actual data.

    Name and descriptionDescription
    Publish access and approvals
    This section allows you to determine which users can publish public reports to the folder.
    Publish Rights
     

    Users with Functional Access — All users with public report function can write to this folder

    Experts only or with Expert Approval — Only specified users can publish reports into this
    folder.
    If a user does not have access to publish the folder, the report is rerouted to an Expert for
    approval. This allows administrators and advanced users to approve all reports stored
    into the folder before they are activated for public consumption, ensuring they are correct
    and the data can be trusted.

    Report Version History

    The system has the ability to maintain historical result sets for reports. When a user selects this option not only is the
    report definition saved but the data as well. This allows users to view previous versions of the report and compare
    result sets.

    All versions of the report data are stored in the BMC Remedy Smart Reporting Database.
    As the administrator you can determine how much history and the  maximum size of reports you wish to save. By default, the version history period for folders containing the Smart Reporting OOTB content packs is set to 2 weeks.
    This is an application management process that permits you to control the use of your infrastructure.

    Version History

    Allows you to store the data returned in a report

    Only keep the latest result set — No historical results are saved
    Keep archived report result sets — All historical versions of the reports are saved

    Note: Saving all historical versions can build up large amount of data quickly. Select this option only when required. By default, the version history period for folders containing the Smart Reporting OOTB content packs is set to 2 weeks.

    Max Size
    Allows you to define the data size to be saved in the cache
    or database where version history is required.
    Enter a numeric value for the maximum size for data
    Max Items Displayed

    Allows you to define the number of items to be displayed
    on the History drop down list for management
    information reports.

    Enter a numeric value for the maximum number of items
    Max Age
    Define a period after which archived reports should be deleted
    Enter a number value and then select the calculation value
    from the drop down list. By default, the version history period for folders containing the Smart Reporting OOTB content packs is set to 2 weeks.

    Content security access

    Select the options to restrict access to the content in the sub category based on the specified permissions.

    Security type
    Set the type of security

    Secure — Users must log on to the system to view the content. All logged on users can view the
    content
    Access Security Level Required — Only selected users can access the content
    When you choose this option you need to select a person or group and then the level
    of access that they are permitted. You can provide the members the following levels of access:
    Read — Users can only view this content
    Edit and Update — Users can edit and update existing content. They cannot create or delete
    existing content.
    Delete — Users can read, edit, create, and delete content.

    Note: You must add at least one member with Delete access.

    Tip: If you want all users to have read access for an item, create a group with all the users
    and provide read access to this group.

  5. When you have selected a person and/or a group click add to append them to the access list. You can have as many groups and people in the list as you wish. You cannot finish the process if you do not have at least one person or group with delete access. Select a person with delete access to finish.

Restricting access to a Content Category

To restrict access to any of the Content Categories:

  1. Log on to the BMC Remedy Mid-Tier as a Reporting Administrator.
  2. Choose Applications > Smart Reporting > Smart Reporting console.
  3. On the BMC Remedy Smart Reporting console, choose Administration > Admin Console.    
  4. Expand Content Category > AR System. The list displays all available Content Categories.
  5. To restrict the Access of Incident Management Content Category to selected users:
    1. Click on Incident Management and scroll down to the Content Security and Access section.
    2. Change the Security Type to Access Security Level Required. By default, the option is set to User Must Login.
    3. In the Member Selection section, click Add Members, and add the members to whom you wish to provide an access to this Category.
      Make sure you add Admin user with delete access, and other users with Read or Edit & Update Access, as required.
  6. Click Save. Now only authorized users can see the Reports and Dashboards stored in this Category.

Modifying or deleting a category or sub category 

To modify a Category or Sub Category click it's name under the Content Categories list. You can then make the required changes and save it.

To delete a Category or Sub Category, click the x next to Category or Sub Category name under the Content Categories list. You are required to confirm the deletion. If you are deleting a Category or Sub Category that contains content, you must move or remove the content before you can delete it.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments