This documentation supports the 18.05 version of Remedy IT Service Management Suite.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Configuring virtualization administrators

The Virtualization Lifecycle Management view provides an optimized view for the virtualization administrator. This view makes it easier for the virtualization administrator to initiate and manage change for virtual machines.

To configure virtualization administrators to use the Virtualization Lifecycle Management view, or to configure a best practice view, you must deploy the view. You can deploy it to any of the following entities:

  • Company — Ensures all people in the company see the Virtualization Lifecycle Management view.
  • Support Group — Ensures all people in the chosen support group see the Virtualization Lifecycle Management view. Use this option for a support group that performs virtualization administration.
  • Individual — Ensures the specified individual sees the Virtualization Lifecycle Management view. Use this option if individuals, but not the entire support group, are virtualization administrators.

    Important

    To perform the procedures described in this section, you must have AR System administrator privileges.

    Example

    At Calbro Services, the Backoffice Support group performs the role of virtualization administrator. The following figure illustrates the configured deployment of the Virtualization Lifecycle Management view to Calbro Service's Backoffice Support group. In this example, the Service Desk support group uses the Change Best Practice View.


To configure virtualization administrators and best practice view

  1. From the Application Administration Console, click the Custom Configuration tab.
  2. From the Application Settings list, choose Foundation > Advanced Options > View Selection Framework - Deploy View, and then click Open.
  3. In the navigation pane on the left side of the form, select the application name (Remedy Change Management) and the role (for example, Virtualization Administrator).
  4. To deploy the view to a company, perform the following steps:

    Important

    To deploy a view for use at a company level, you must ensure that all users are given an access restriction record for the company. This can be done from within the People form (as described in Adding a support staff person). By default, a user is given access to the company defined in the Company field of their people profile record. For this function to work, users must have the matching company access restriction permission and not just the Unrestricted Access permission.

    1. On the Company Mapping tab, select the company to which you are mapping the view.
    2. If necessary, change the sorting order number.
      The sorting order is used when a support group or an individual belongs to more than one company. A company with a lower sort order value takes precedence over a company with a higher sort order value.
  5. To deploy the view to a support group, perform the following steps:
    1. On the Support Group Mapping tab, select the company and organization to which the support group belongs.
    2. From the Support Group list, select the support group.
    3. If necessary, change the sorting order number.
      The sorting order is used when a support group or an individual belongs to more than one company. A company with a lower sort order value takes precedence over a company with a higher sort order value.

      Important

      If you need to change the sort order after you save the deployment, you must first delete the deployment by using the Remove button, and then re-create the deployment with the new sort order number.

  6. To deploy the view to an individual, perform the following steps:
    1. On the Individual Mapping tab, select the company, organization, and support group to which the individual belongs.
    2. From the People list, select the individual to whom you are mapping the view.
  7. To save the deployment, click Add.
  8. Close the form and then have the affected users log back in to the application.


Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments