Unsupported content


All versions of the product has reached end of support. The documentation is available for your convenience. However, you must be logged in to access it. You will not be able to leave comments.

Configuring service-level agreements

Case service-level agreement (SLA) is a mechanism to monitor the deadlines for resolving cases, including terms and response time when the HR agents must provide service to end users.

BMC HR Case Management has one standard SLA, which is by default available when the fresh system is installed. You can modify this SLA and configure new SLAs.

You can add as many SLAs as you need. The SLAs that you add are applicable to all the cases in BMC HR Case Management that fulfill the SLA condition. After an SLA matches all conditions, the SLAs tab on the Case Management console is updated with the SLA details.

You might want notification emails to be sent to individuals or group of individuals when SLAs are triggered. If you have four warning levels applied in the SLA configuration (for example, 25%, 50%, 75%, 100%) you need to have notification templates configured for each warning level.

Before you begin

To send SLA notifications by email, you must configure notification templates for each warning level, as described in Configuring notification templates.

To add a new SLA

  1. From the BMC HR Case Management main window, open the System Settings console.
  2. Select Foundation > SLA Configuration.
  3. Click New.
  4. In the SLA Configuration Details section, complete the following fields:

    Parent Form

    Select COL:CASE:Case—a form on which the SLA is configured.

    SLA NameUnique name of the SLA.
    SLA DescriptionDescription of the reason for the SLA.
    Start QualificationThe condition to start the SLA.
    Example:'TR.Case Status' = "Work In Progress". 
    Pause QualificationThe condition to pause tracking of the SLA.
    Example: 'Case Status' = "Pending".
    End QualificationThe condition to stop the SLA.
    Example:('TR.Case Status' = "Resolved"  OR 'TR.Case Status' = "Cancelled" OR 'TR.Case Status' = "Closed") AND ('DB.Case Status' != "Resolved" AND 'DB.Case Status' != "Cancelled" AND 'DB.Case Status' != "Closed").
  5. In the SLA Goal section, specify the amount of time to complete the SLA. 

  6. Specify both the workdays and holidays, so that SLA time is counted only during working time. Workdays uses the following format:

    • 24*5 - 24 hours 5 days a week
    • 24*7 - 24 hours 7 days a week
    • 8*5 - 8 hours 5 days a week
  7. In the Target Details section, add at least one target for an SLA. Complete the following fields:

    Warning levelA warning level is an SLA status.There are four warning levels (1-4), where 1 is the lowest intensity warning and 4 is the highest intensity warning. Each warning level corresponds to a target: four targets—four warning levels. Select one of these levels to send an SLA notification.
    Target N %The percentage of time allowed to elapse before a notification is sent. This can be set for four different targets—1, 2, 3, and 4. Each target relates to a notification template with the same number.
    Select the type of the SLA notification receiver: To send notification to any receiver, select Individual. To send notification to any group of receivers, select Group. To send notifications to the case assignee or the whole group assigned to the case, select Field.
    Target N Notify  Select the notification receiver or group of receivers from the list. The options for selection available in the drop-down list depend on the choice that you make in the Type field.
    Notification N TemplateSelect a notification template that contains the text that will be sent to the notification receiver—an individual or group that you selected in the Target N Notify field.
  8. Click Save & Close.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you