Managing notification profiles

The Notification Profiles page displays the notification profiles created by various integrated products and BMC Helix Portal. The following out-of-the-box profiles are available in BMC Helix Portal and the intended recipients receive in-app notifications in these scenarios:

  • New user is added to a user group
  • User is removed from a user group
  • New role is assigned to a user
  • Role is revoked from a user
  • Access key expiry: You receive a notification two days before the key expires.
    • Key expiry: All Administrator group members and the user who created and modified an API user receives the notification.
    • User-level key expiry: The user who created an access key receives the notification.

A notification expires 30 days after it is read. An unread notification expires 30 days after it is received.

Can I create a notification profile?

No, you cannot create your own notification profiles.

Are there other notifications available?

  • Banner notifications – You receive this notification when the BMC SaaS Operations team schedules a maintenance or upgrade.
    A banner closes automatically after two days.

  • Email notifications – You receive this notification for access key expiry. To allow users to receive email notifications, the administrator must configure your company's mail server and verify that the users have valid email accounts with the specified server.

Editing notification profiles

To view the notification profiles available in BMC Helix Portal, select Configure > Notification profiles

From the Actions menu of a notification profile, you can complete the following tasks:

TaskDescription

Enable or disable notifications

Select Activate or Deactivate.

When you disable a notification profile, all notifications of that profile type are turned off and the impacted users no longer receive notifications.

You can also activate or deactivate a notification profile while editing the profile.

Revert any changes to the profile's recipient listClick Reset profile. The recipient list is reset to the default state.
To edit a notification profile, click Actions > Profile details. You can complete the following tasks:
Send notifications to all uses and groups for a tenant

Select Everyone.

Specify the recipients for receiving the notifications

In Context variables, click Select

  • To send notifications to the selected users and groups, select Requested for.
  • To send notifications to the administrator, select Requested by.
    For example, when a new user is added, the specific user or group receives the notification. If the administrator also needs to be notified, select Requested by.
Add users or groups as recipients
  1. Click Select
  2. From the Users or Groups list, select the users and groups to add them as recipients, and click Confirm.
Remove users or groups as recipients
  1. Click <number of users or groups> assigned, which indicates the existing number of users or groups that are recipients of notifications. 
  2. From the Users or Groups list, select the users and groups to remove them as recipients, and click Remove.


To customize email notifications

By default, an email notification is sent for access key expiry. You can customize the notification profile by modifying the default text and rebranding the email notification. For example, you can change the default contact details or hide the footer in the email.

  1. For a profile that has email notification enabled, select Actions > Profile details.
  2. In the Profile details pane, click Template editor.
  3. Modify the Subject, Heading, Body, Footer, and Disclaimer text as required.
  4. To automatically include information in the fields, add a variable by typing the following information:
    Type open braces ({), select one of the variables from the list, and type close braces (}).
    For example, in the Key expiry heading field, you add a text: Access key expiry for {$params.name}. When the user receives the email notification, the header will be: Access key expiry for <name of the access key>. 
  5. Click Save and publish.

You can reset the notification details to the default values. 

Warning

The Reset profile option not only resets the email template to the default, but it also reverts any changes made to the recipients (users and groups) of the notification profile. 

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments