Defining rules to delete work targets automatically

If you create a workspace and its related service portfolio manually (not using the Business Process templates) and link them to activate service level management, work targets linked to tickets are not deleted automatically if the ticket is deleted. To implement this action, you must create a business rule to delete any work targets linked to a ticket that is deleted.

To delete a work target record when the linked ticket is deleted

  1. Open the item where you want to define the rule:
    1. Click the Administration tab.
    2. In the Service Portfolios section, click the name of the service portfolio, or click Manage to open the Service Portfolio Administration page. Then double-click the service portfolio.
      The Service Portfolio details page appears.

    3. In the left pane, click Record Definitions.
      The Items page appears. 
    4. Double-click the Work Target item that you want to modify.
      The Item details page appears.
  2. In the left pane, click Business Rules.
  3. Click New Business Rule and select an appropriate rule.
    The Rule Builder page appears.
  4. In the Business Rule Name field, type a descriptive name for this rule.
  5. (Optional) In the Description field, type a description that explains the purpose of this rule.
  6. (Optional) In the State field, select Not active if this rule is not ready for use.
  7. (Optional) In the Business Rule Schedule field, accept the default of Run any time or select any work schedule configured for this container.
  8. In the Triggers section:
    1. Click Add trigger.
    2. In the Available Triggers field, select On Linked Item Delete.
    3. In the Link Type field, select Ticket/Work Target: Ticket.
    4. Click Create.
  9. (Optional) In the Criteria section, enter any applicable criteria.
    No criteria are required for this rule. 
  10. In the Actions section:
    1. Click Add new action.
    2. In the Action and field, select Delete Work Target.
    3. Click Create.
  11. Click Save.
  12. Publish the workspace to implement your changes:

    1. In the breadcrumb trail, click the Workspace link.

    2. Click Save and Publish.

      A confirmation message appears.

    3. Click Yes.

      The Publication Succeeded message appears, showing the number of errors and warnings.

Related topics

Configuring business rules

Managing business rules

Deleting business rules

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments

  1. Linda Kirkpatrick

    "Click New Business Rule and select General Rule.".  There is no Business rule type by this name.  

    Mar 11, 2016 11:37
    1. Deval Faldu

      Hello Linda,

      Thank you for feedback. We have updated the information.

      Warm Regards,
      Deval

      Mar 16, 2016 03:11