Managing saved searches

Depending on the role that you are assigned, you can modify and delete saved searches that you create or for which you have editing rights. The role can be of an agent, a customer, and so on. For more information, see Configuring user roles. You can also set a Shared search to Private and prevent other users from seeing it. Saved searches can be run from the Manage Searches page. For more information about creating searches and saving them, see Using Advanced Search and saving searches.

Using saved searches in reports

Although you can use saved searches  in report definitions, searches that take a long time to finish can impact system performance. This issue is especially true for searches run in the background or shared searches run by several users at once.

To create searches that work efficiently and reduce potential impact on performance, review the Search tips topic for guidance in defining search terms.

The following topics are provided:

To copy a saved search

  1. From any Home page, in the Search fields, click the drop-down arrow next to Select item(s), scroll down to the bottom of the list, and select Manage Searches.
    The Manage Searches page appears.
  2. Select the search that you want to copy.
  3. Click Copy and a New Search tab with the same name appended with the word Copy appears. 
    For example: My Service Requests Copy.
  4. (Optional) In the Name field, enter a new name for the saved search.
  5. Modify the fields as needed.
  6. Click Save and Run and select a save option.

To edit a saved search

  1. From any Home page, in the Search fields, click the drop-down arrow next to Select item(s), scroll down to the bottom of the list, and select Manage Searches.
    The Manage Searches page appears.
  2. Select the search that you want to modify.
  3. Modify the fields as needed.
    For more information about search options, see Searching in FootPrints.
  4. When you are ready to save this search, click Save & Run and select a save option.

To hide a saved search

If you want to prevent users from running a saved search, you can hide it without deleting it.

  1. From any Home page, in the Search fields, click the drop-down arrow next to Select item(s) and select Manage Searches.
    The Manage Searches page appears.
  2. Select the search that you want to modify.
  3. In the Type field, change the value to Private.
  4. Click Save & Run and select a save option.
    The search will no longer be available to other users.

To delete a saved search

  1. From any Home page, in the Search fields, click the drop-down arrow next to Select item(s), scroll down to the bottom of the list, and select Manage Searches.
    The Manage Searches page appears.
  2. In the list, select the search that you want to delete and click Delete.
    A confirmation message appears.
  3. Click Yes.
    The page refreshes and the deleted search is no longer listed.

To run a saved search from the Manage Searches page

This option is useful if you are trying to troubleshoot a search.

  1. From any Home page, in the Search fields, click the dropdown arrow next to Select item(s), scroll down to the bottom of the list, and select ManageSearches.

    The Manage Searches page appears.

  2. Select the search that you want to run and click the Run icon.
    The search results appear in a new tab.

Related topics

Filtering search results

Using Advanced Search and saving searches

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments