Page tree
    Skip to end of metadata
    Go to start of metadata

    Although dashboards are private by default, you can share dashboards with other users. If you share a dashboard with other users and then delete it, you delete it for them, too. Anyone can view a shared dashboard, but only you can edit or delete a dashboard that you created. 

    When you find or create a dashboard that you like, copying it is the easiest way to create a similar one that you can modify for another purpose. Because owners of shared dashboards can delete them, copying a dashboard enables you to control it yourself. New dashboards created by copying another are automatically named Copy of <sourceDashboardName>. You can copy a dashboard from the Dashboards page or from the dashboard. After copying a dashboard, you can edit it to modify its name and other properties.  This topic provides the following procedures:

    Note

    If an administrator removes a user from the system who owns shared dashboards, those dashboards are also deleted from the system.

    To share a dashboard

    1. Click My Dashboards

    2. Locate the dashboard to share, and click the Shared toggle.

    Note

    Only those dashboards shared by others with you are listed under the Shard Dashboards tab   and not the dashboards shared by you with others.

    Shared status

    Shared for use by others
    Available to only you

    To copy a dashboard from the Dashboards page

    1. Click My Dashboards or Shared Dashboards

    2. In the action menu to the left of the dashboard name, select Copy Dashboard
      The new dashboard appears in the My Dashboards list as Copy of <sourceDashboardName>.

    3. Rename the copied dashboard to a unique name. 

      Note

      If you do not rename the copied dashboard, it prevents others from creating additional copies of the same dashboard if needed.

    Dashboard page menu options

    To copy an active dashboard

    1. Select a dashboard from the My Dashboards or Shared Dashboards tab.

    2. In the action menu to the right of the dashboard name, select Copy Dashboard
      The new dashboard appears in the My Dashboards list as Copy of <sourceDashboardName>.
    3. Rename the copied dashboard to a unique name. 

      Note

      If you do not rename the copied dashboard, it prevents others from creating additional copies of the same dashboard if needed.

    Related topics

    Adding and modifying dashboards

    Deleting dashboards

    Getting started with dashboards

    Active dashboard menu options