Page tree

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

An out-of-the-box utility has been provided to help you migrate your installation across platforms from an existing server to a new server.

Note

This migration utility can be used for migrating servers while upgrading to BMC TrueSight Capacity Optimization 10.3.00. You must run the installation on the new server using the root user, if you use shared repositories on your setup.

Migrating your installation

Follow the steps given below to migrate your installation instance:

  1. Download or copy the BMC TrueSight Capacity Optimization installation files to the new server. For more information, see Downloading the installation files.
  2. Untar the installation files on the new server.
  3. Copy the migration utility (Disk1/utility/COMigrationUtility.sh) from the new server to the BMC TrueSight Capacity Optimization installation directory path on the existing server.

    This step is required only if you do not download the BMC TrueSight Capacity Optimization 10.3 installation files on your existing server.

  4. On the existing server, navigate to the path where the migration utility is stored and run it, that is, Disk1/utility/COMigrationUtility.sh

    A package (co_migration_package) that contains a snapshot of the server is created and saved on the existing server. A package (co_repository) that contains the repository is created, if it was installed on the same server. However, if the repository is shared, it will not be included.

  5. Copy the package to the new server. Type scp co_migration_package root@NewMachineName:Path
  6. Run the installation on the new server. For more information, see Step 1 of the Installing Application Server and components procedure.
  7. When you are prompted to type the installation directory path, type the path where you copied the co_migration_package package. For more information, see Step 6 of the Installing Application Server and components procedure.
  8. Click Yes, proceed with server migration when prompted with the Migration server option.

It is highly recommended that you decommission the older server after ensuring the server has been successfully migrated to the new server.