Page tree

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Users are the base-level entity in BMC Release Process Management (BRPM). Users access the system by logging in.

Based on group assignments, each user can have different roles for different applications and their environments. For example, in Application_1, a user has the Deployer role for one environment and Coordinator role for another environment, while in Application_2, the same user has the Requestor role for all environments.

Note

You can assign roles only to groups. You cannot assign roles to individual users.

When you create a new user and do not assign the user to a group, the user is assigned to the default group.

When you use LDAP group mapping, LDAP users  are automatically added to the mapped groups and not to the default group after the first login. For more information, see Creating LDAP group mapping.

You can receive email notifications when you create or edit user accounts. Ensure that the appropriate notification template is active in System > Settings > Notification Templates. For more information, see Managing notification templates.

This topic consists of the following sections:

To create a user

  1. Log on to the BMC Release Process Management application.
  2. Go to System > Users.

  3. Click Add New User at the right side of your screen.
  4. Enter new user information using the following guidelines:

    Option

    Information to enter

    First Name (required)

    Enter the first name of a user.

    Last Name
    (required)

    Enter the last name of a user.

    Email
    (required)

    Enter the email address of a user.

    Login (required)

    Enter the name that a user will use to log in to the system.

    Note: Starting 5.0.03.002: Patch 2 for Service Pack 3, once you specify the Login name, you cannot change it while editing a user.

    Password (required)
    Enter the password that a user will use to log in. Users change their password when they initially log in. Note: The Password and Confirm Password fields are displayed only if Default Authentication is enabled for the logged-on user. For more information, see Specifying general settings.

    Confirm Password
    (required)

    Enter the user password again.

    Contact number

    Enter the telephone number for the user.

    Permanent or Contractor

    Select the employee status of a user.
    This setting is used only for reporting.

    Max AllocationEnter the estimated time allocated to a user for completing assigned tasks.
    This information is used only for reporting and does not affect any user functions.
    Location

    Select the location where a user is operating.

    Note: You can create new locations by navigating to Environment > Metadata > Manage Lists > Locations .

    Time ZoneSelect the time zone of a user.
    GroupsClick Add Group, and then, in the Select Groups dialog box, select the groups to assign to a user. Click Select Groups when finished.
  5. Click Create User.

To edit a user

  1. Go to System > Users.
  2. In the Actions column, click Edit for the user that you want to modify.
  3. Make your changes and click Update User when finished.

    Note

    Manual LDAP group assignments are not affected by LDAP group mapping. Only LDAP group assignments are overwritten at each user login. For more information, see Creating LDAP group mapping.

To make a user inactive

  1. Go to System > Users.
  2. In the Actions column, click Make Inactive for the appropriate user.

    Note

    If you make a user inactive, you cannot select that user when you create a request, step, or plan.

To unlock a user

NEW IN 5.0.03.002Starting 5.0.03.002: Patch 2 for Service Pack 3, if a user tries to log on to the BRPM UI with incorrect credentials, after five unsuccessful attempts, your user account is locked and the following error message appears:

Your account is locked due to repeated failed login attempts

After a user account gets locked, one cannot access the application by the UI or by using the REST APIs. Only administrators or roles to which the Unlock User permission is assigned can unlock a user account. You can only unlock an active user. If the user is inactive, you must first make the user active before unlocking the user account.

  1. Go to System > Users.
    A lock icon appears against the locked username.
  2. In the Actions column, click Unlock.
    This unlocks the user account and the lock icon is no longer displayed.

Related topics

Administering users, roles, and access permissions

Managing groups

Managing user roles

User roles considerations after upgrading the product