Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

As an administrator, you can automate the dismissal and purging of entities (systems and business drivers).

You can, thereby, save the database space and clean up the environment from unused and obsolete entities. As a result, the number of unused or inactive systems is reduced and you can align the system licensing count with that of the systems.

To configure the system to automatically dismiss or purge data, navigate to Administration, click Data Warehouse and select Aging Configuration. Then, complete the following steps:

  1. Enable dismissal or purging of entities
  2. Configure entity inactivity thresholds

You can manually dismiss or purge the entities too. For more information, see Life cycle and status of entities and domains.

To enable or disable dismissal or purging of entities

You can enable or disable automatic dismissal or purging of the following entities: Systems and Business Drivers. By default, the dismissal and purging features are disabled.

  1. Depending on the entity, access the appropriate subpage in the Aging Configuration page:
      • For automatic purging of system data: Click the System tab. 
      • For automatic purging of business driver data: Click the Business Driver tab.
  2. In the System page or Business Driver page, slide the appropriate toggle button   to enable or disable the dismissal or purging of entities.

    As shown in the following screenshot, automatic dismissal and purging of systems is enabled.

    To disable the automatic dismissal of systems, slide the toggle button 1
    To disable the automatic purging of systems, slide the toggle button 2

To configure entity inactivity thresholds 

You can configure the inactivity thresholds for the following entities: Systems and Business Drivers

  1. Access the appropriate subpage in the Aging Configuration page:
    • For automatic purging of system data: Click the System tab. 
    • For automatic purging of business driver data: Click the Business Driver tab.
  2. In the Automatic purging section, ensure that the appropriate toggle button is enabled. 

  3. Click Edit  and based on your requirement, specify the inactivity duration for the selected entity in number of days, weeks, or months. 

    • To move the entities from Unassigned to Dismissed folder of the Workspace, specify the inactivity duration in the field: Dismiss <entity> after
    • To permanently delete entities from the Dismissed folder of the Workspace, specify the inactivity duration in the field: Purge <entity> after 

      The duration is calculated by using the last activity attribute of the entity.

      For example, the following screenshot indicates that systems in the Unassigned folder of the Workspace will be moved to the Dismissed folder after 50 days of inactivity. And, the systems in the Dismissed folder will be permanently deleted after 150 days of inactivity.
  4. Click Save values.

3 Comments

  1.  

  2.  

    1.