This documentation relates to the latest released version of BMC Discovery.
See the information on this topic for versions 11.2 or 11.1.

Although it is possible to remove an object from the UI, you should note that the object is actually retained in the datastore. Details can still be displayed for audit purposes, and you can choose to include destroyed objects in searches.

The following topics are covered in this section:

When would I destroy data?

In general, you should not need to destroy data in production. When testing, you might need to destroy data; for example, when developing patterns.

To destroy an object

  1. Display the View Object page of the relevant object by clicking a highlighted object on any List page or any Report page.
    All of the object's current attributes and relationships are listed.
  2. From the Actions drop-down menu, select Destroy.
    The following message is displayed:
    Are you sure you want to destroy this node?
  3. To destroy the object, click OK.
    The View Object page is redisplayed, with "This node has been destroyed" at the top of the page. You can select History from the Actions menu to display details of the changes made to the object. The object will not appear in subsequent list pages.

Note

You cannot undelete an object that has been destroyed.

Related topics

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you
  • No labels
© Copyright 2004 - 2019 BMC Software, Inc.
Legal notices