Purging history and destroyed nodes
History information about each node and relationship is recorded in the datastore. This audit trail includes details of the changes made, the date and time of the changes and the user who made the changes. You can view the history of each object in the datastore and you can search for and display details of destroyed objects.
By default, history is not purged. If configured, history is purged automatically. For information on how to enable automatic purging of the history and specify an age above which history data is purged, see configuring model maintenance settings.
To ensure that the historical information is self-consistent, the creation time record for each node is maintained, and all state changes that occurred between the creation time and the purge time are rolled up into a single state change entry.
In BMC Discovery when data passes a certain configurable aging threshold, it is destroyed. It is also possible to manually destroy a node before it is removed through aging. However, manual destruction of host nodes is not recommended in production appliances. For more information, see Destroying data.
When a node is destroyed, it is marked as destroyed but remains in the datastore for a fixed period of time, after which it is automatically purged. For information on how to specify a time after which destroyed nodes are purged, see configuring model maintenance settings.