This documentation supports the 11.3 version of BMC Discovery.

To view an earlier version of the product, select the version from the Product version menu.

Adding a machine to an existing cluster

After you have created a cluster, you can access the Cluster Management page and add or remove additional machines to or from the cluster. You can add machines to the cluster only if they are in the default configuration. If an appliance has any changes from the default configuration, you can create a cluster with it as the coordinator, but you cannot add it to an existing cluster without resetting its configuration.

To add a machine to an existing cluster

  1. From the main menu, click the Administration Settings icon, and then click Cluster Management in the Appliance section.
  2. On the Cluster Management page, click Add Members.
    The Add Members dialog is displayed.
  3. Enter the IP address or hostname information for the new members to add to the cluster in the Member Addresses field.
    Use one of the following formats:
    • IPv4 address (for example 192.168.1.100). Labeled v4.
    • IPv6 address (for example 2001:500:100:1187:203:baff:fe44:91a0). Labeled v6.
    • Hostname (for example wilkoapp3.tideway.com). Labeled Hn.
  4. Click Add to add the new member to the cluster.
    This becomes a pending change that must be committed before the member joins the cluster.
  5. Click Commit Changes to add the new member to the cluster.
    The Cluster Management page is refreshed, showing the progress of the member addition.

    The state of the new member is shown as joining. You may see transient errors during this process; for example, the coordinator may attempt to contact a service that has not yet started. These transient errors will clear and can be ignored. If you attempt to log in to a BMC Discovery machine that is joining, an offline page is shown, containing progress messages about the joining process.

To reset the configuration of a machine

  1. From the main menu, click the Administration Settings icon, and then click Cluster Management in the Appliance section.
    Where the machine is in a nondefault configuration, the configuration changes are listed in the Summary pane.
  2. Click Reset Configuration.

    Warning

    Resetting the configuration of the machine destroys all data held in that machine.

    The services are shut down, and the machine displays the Reset Configuration screen while the reset operation progresses. When complete, the machine displays the login page.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments