Shutting down restarting and maintenance mode

For some maintenance tasks you may need to restart the appliance services, for others you need to reboot or shut down the appliance, and for some you can place the appliance into maintenance mode. For example, you need to:

  • Restart services—After making changes to some discovery configuration options
  • Shut down—To make hardware changes such as adding disks
  • Reboot—After upgrading the BMC Discovery application software or upgrading the operating system

Maintenance mode is a user mode in which the only users permitted are those who are members of the system group. All users who are not members of this group are logged off the appliance and an explanatory message is displayed.

To restart services

You must be logged in as a user who is a member of the system group to shut down the appliance.

  1. From the main menu, click the Administration icon 
    The Administration page opens.
  2. In the Appliance section, click Control.
  3. On the Control page, click Restart Appliance Services.
  4. Confirm the action.

To reboot the appliance

You must be logged in as a user who is a member of the system group to reboot the appliance.

  1. From the main menu, click the Administration icon 
    The Administration page opens.
  2. In the Appliance section, click Control.
  3. On the Control page, click Reboot Appliance.
  4. Confirm the action.

To shut down the appliance

You must be logged in as a user who is a member of the system group to shut down the appliance.

  1. From the main menu, click the Administration icon 
    The Administration page opens.
  2. In the Appliance section, click Control.
  3. On the Control page, click Shutdown Appliance.
  4. Confirm the action.

To put the appliance into maintenance mode

You must be logged in as a user who is a member of the system group to reboot the appliance.

  1. From the main menu, click the Administration icon 
    The Administration page opens.
  2. In the Appliance section, click Control.
  3. On the Control page, click Set Maintenance Mode.
  4. Confirm the action.
    All users who are not members of this group are logged off. System group users' screens are refreshed, and the Quit Maintenance Mode button is displayed.

Maintenance mode is not a single-user mode. If you are performing any tasks that could affect other users (such as appliance backup) you should ensure that you are the only user logged in.
Use the Administration > Security > Active Sessions window to verify this.

When non-system users are logged out, the login banner is displayed with an "under maintenance" message. When logging into an appliance that is in maintenance mode, you should ensure that your work does not interfere with that of other logged in users.

In maintenance mode, a flashing banner is displayed at the top of all pages. The flashing banner is a link to the Appliance Control page.

To leave maintenance mode

To leave maintenance mode, click Quit Maintenance Mode.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments