Purging history and destroyed nodes

History

History information about each node and relationship is recorded in the datastore. This audit trail includes details of the changes made, the date and time of the changes and the user who made the changes. You can view the history of each object in the datastore and you can search for and display details of destroyed objects.

In previous releases a purge history script was provided enabling you to purge the history manually. From BMC Discovery 9.0 this can be done automatically. By default, history is not purged. For information on how to enable this and specify an age above which history data is purged, see configuring model maintenance settings.

To ensure that the historical information is self-consistent, the creation time record for each node is maintained, and all state changes that occurred between the creation time and the purge time are rolled up into a single state change entry.

Destroyed nodes

When a node is destroyed, it is marked as destroyed but remains in the datastore for a fixed period of time, after which it is automatically purged. For information on how to specify a time after which destroyed nodes are purged, see configuring model maintenance settings.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments