Shutting down and restarting clusters

For some cluster maintenance tasks you may need to restart the services on all machines in the cluster, for others you need to reboot or shut down all machines in the cluster, and for some you can place the cluster into maintenance mode. For example, you need to:

  • Restart services — after making changes to some discovery configuration options
  • Shut down — to make hardware changes such as adding disks
  • Reboot — after upgrading the BMC Atrium Discovery application software or upgrading the operating system

This functionality is also available in the Appliance Control page.

Maintenance mode is a user mode in which the only users permitted are those who are members of the system group. All users who are not members of this group are logged off the cluster and an explanatory message is displayed.

Note

The control buttons at the top of the Cluster Management page apply to every machine in the cluster. Individual machines can be controlled from the Actions drop down page.

To shut down all machines in the cluster

You must be logged in as a user who is a member of the system group to shut down all machines in the cluster.

  1. On the Cluster Management page, click Shutdown Cluster.
  2. Confirm the action.

To reboot all machines in the cluster

You must be logged in as a user who is a member of the system group to reboot all of the machines in the cluster.

  1. On the Cluster Management page, click Reboot Cluster.
  2. Confirm the action.

To restart services on all machines in the cluster

You must be logged in as a user who is a member of the system group to restart the services on all machines in the cluster.

  1. On the Cluster Management page, click Restart Cluster Services.
  2. Confirm the action.

To put the cluster into maintenance mode

You must be logged in as a user who is a member of the system group to place the cluster into maintenance mode.

  1. On the Cluster Management page, click Enable Maintenance Mode.
  2. Confirm the action.
    All users who are not members of this group are logged off. System group users' screens are refreshed and the Quit Maintenance Mode button is displayed.

Maintenance mode is not a single-user mode. If you are performing any tasks that could affect other users (such as appliance backup) you should ensure that you are the only user logged in.
Use the Administration => Security => Active Sessions window to verify this.

When non-system users are logged out, the login banner is displayed with an "under maintenance" message. When logging into an appliance that is in maintenance mode, you should ensure that your work does not interfere with that of other logged in users.

In maintenance mode, a flashing banner is displayed at the top of all pages. The flashing banner is a link to the Control page.

To take the cluster out of maintenance mode

To leave maintenance mode, click Quit Maintenance Mode.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments