Adding a machine to an existing cluster

Once you have created a cluster, you can access the Cluster Management page and add or remove additional machines to or from the cluster. You can only add machines to the cluster if they are in the default configuration. If an appliance has any changes from the default configuration, you can create a cluster with it as the coordinator, but you cannot add it to an existing cluster without resetting its configuration.

To add a machine to an existing cluster

  1. On the Administration tab, click Cluster Management in the Appliance section.
    Shows the dialog for adding members to a cluster. The dialog uses pills.







  2. On the Cluster Management page, click Add Members.
    The Add Members dialog displays.
    Shows the dialog for adding members to a cluster. The dialog uses pills.










  3. Enter the IP address or hostname information for the new members to add to the cluster in the Member Addresses field. It can be in one of the following formats:
    • IPv4 address (for example 192.168.1.100). Labeled v4.
    • IPv6 address (for example 2001:500:100:1187:203:baff:fe44:91a0). Labeled v6.
    • Hostname (for example wilkoapp3.tideway.com). Labeled Hn.
  4. Click Add to add the new member to the cluster. This becomes a pending change which needs to be committed before the member joins the cluster.
    Shows the cluster management page with a new member waiting to be added. The dialog uses pills.











  5. Click Commit Changes to add the new member to the cluster.
    The Cluster Management page is refreshed showing the progress of the member addition.
    Shows the cluster management page with a new member being added and that activity shown as joining.









    The state of the new member is shown as joining. You may see transient errors during this process, for example, the coordinator may attempt to contact a service that has not yet started. These transient errors will clear and can be ignored. If you attempt to log into a BMC Atrium Discovery machine that is joining, an offline page is shown containing progress messages about the joining process.

To reset the configuration of a machine

  1. On the Administration tab, click Cluster Management in the Appliance section. Where the machine is in a non-default configuration, the configuration changes are listed in the Summary pane.
    Shows the cluster manager window for a non-default machine. A Reset Configuration button is provided.






  2. Click Reset Configuration to reset the configuration of the machine to defaults.

    Warning

    Resetting the configuration of the machine destroys all data held in that machine.

    The services are shut down and the machine displays the Reset Configuration screen.
    Shows the cluster manager window for a non-default machine. A Reset Configuration button is provided.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments