Destroying data

Although it is possible to remove an object from the user interface, you should note that the object is actually retained in the datastore. Details can still be displayed for audit purposes and you can choose to include destroyed objects in searches.

When would I destroy data?

In general you should not need to destroy data in production. When testing you may need to destroy data, for example when developing patterns.

To destroy an object

  1. Display the View Object page of the relevant object by clicking on a highlighted object on any List page or any Report page. All of the object's current attributes and relationships are listed.
  2. From the Actions drop down menu, select Destroy. The message "Are you sure you want to destroy this node?" is displayed.
  3. Choose OK to destroy the object.
  4. The View Object page is redisplayed, with "This node has been destroyed" at the top of the page. You can select History from the Actions menu to display details of the changes made to the object. It will not appear in subsequent list pages.

You cannot undelete an object that has been destroyed.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments