User goals and features for end users
BMC Digital Workplace is highly configurable. Features available to users in the client applications depend on which functionality is enabled and how BMC Digital Workplace is configured.
BMC Digital Workplace mobile clients and the web browser client
BMC Digital Workplace mobile clients are available for end users for Apple iOS and Google Android. End users can also access BMC Digital Workplace from a web browser on a desktop or laptop. In general, the same capabilities are available on both the mobile applications and the web browser with only the following exceptions:
|Functionality available only on mobile clients||
Functionality available only on the web browser client
|Scanning QR codes to get self-help and to submit requests specific to locations and assets.||
Notifications are available on mobile clients and the web browser client. However, there are some differences in how notifications are received. For more information, see Status updates and notifications for end users.
Configuration options for the end user console
BMC Digital Workplace end users can configure the following options:
The end user console is localized as follows:
- On the web browser client, the end user must set the locale in the browser.
- On the mobile application, the end user must set the system language for the mobile device.
End users can access their preferences in the upper-right corner of the end user console.
The following table describes other preferences that an end user can set up:
End users can add an image to their profile, job title, phone numbers, and email addresses.
End users can add only one work email. It is used for sending email notifications from BMC Digital Workplace.
End users can enable notifications they want to receive for the following types of events:
End users can create approval delegation rules to temporarily delegate their requests to other users.
For more information, see Delegating business requests to alternate approvers.
End users can set up their social preferences as follows:
The updates from the followed people are displayed in the Posts timeline.