This documentation supports the 20.08 version of BMC Digital Workplace Basic, which is available only to BMC Helix subscribers (SaaS).
To view an earlier version, select the version from the Product Version menu.

Enabling end user features

In BMC Digital Workplace, you can enable and disable features that you might not want to use immediately in your deployment.


To change client features and landing page 

  1. From the BMC Digital Workplace Admin console (http://server:port/dwp/admin), go to Configuration > Application Features.

  2. To enable or disable specific options, select or clear the associated check boxes in the Features table.
    The changes are automatically saved.
  3. To set the landing page, select the associated radio button in the Set as landing Page column of the Features table.

Important

After a client feature is enabled or disabled, users must restart the client application.

Features

You can enable or disable the following features:

FeatureDescriptionAdditional configuration
(Version 20.08.01 and later) App Selection for Shared LinksEnables end users to select how to open a shared link: in a browser or through the iOS wrapper app. This feature is enabled by default. If it is disabled, the app selection page is not available, and a shared link is automatically displayed in a browser. Disable this feature when end users do not have the iOS wrapper app installed.

No additional configuration.

Browse Category

Enables end users to browse the categories on the Catalog page. When this option is disabled, the Browse Categories feature is not displayed in the BMC Digital Workplace end user console.

No additional configuration.
CatalogEnables end users to make requests from the Catalog tab.

You can configure the Catalog requests and knowledge articles from a variety of sources. The Catalog can include:

  • Requests from IT and HR
  • VMs from BMC Cloud Lifecycle Management
  • Knowledge articles from IT and HR

To configure the Catalog tab, see Setting up sections in the Catalog.

Confidential QuestionEnables the Confidential check box for BMC HR Case Management services that have questions with a confidential option.

For any question type that has a Confidential Data option to hide user answers, selecting the check box will result in masking the actual content of the notes with asterisks (*) being substituted for user answers in the Journal tab of the HR Case Management console. The answers will be available to authorized HR agents only in the Case management console > Self-Service Answers.

For information about a confidential question in BMC HR Case management, see End user answers in BMC HR Case Management .

Contact IT buttonEnables the Contact IT button on the Catalog tab. Shows contact information for key departments or personnel in your IT resource pool.

To configure the information displayed when users click Contact IT, see Setting up phone contacts and the Contact IT button.

The Contact IT button is available on the Catalog tab.

(Version 20.08.01 and later) Hide How-To URLHides the URL to a how-to resource on the Catalog tab and in the search results.

This feature is disabled by default.

If you have not set up links to how-to resources, see Setting up self-help resources.

(Version 20.08.01 and later) Hide Quick Link URLHides the URL to a quick link on the Catalog tab and in the search results.

This feature is disabled by default.

In-app Notifications Enables the bell notification icon. End users start receiving in-app notifications on desktop, mobile, and tablet.

(Version 20.08.01 and later) This feature can be disabled in the BMC Digital Workplace end user console. If the end user disables in-app notifications and resumes them later, they will receive all the notifications that they missed during the cut-off period. For more information, see Configuration options for the end user console.

Include request ID on 'Request Again'Enables the original request ID to be included in a new request that is generated by a user selecting Request Again.No additional configuration.
Include Users in SearchEnables end users to search other end users by name.No additional configuration.
Knowledge Article FeedbackEnables end users to add feedback for knowledge articles.See Enabling self-service in an organization.
My Activity

Enables the My Activity page in BMC Digital Workplace. The My Activity page includes the Global search, active events, and past events.

To configure the default request for use in the Global search, see Setting up service requests through BMC Service Request Management.
Notification Settings for RequestsEnables the notification settings that allow end users to turn notifications on and off.See Configuring email notifications.
PostsEnables end users to add social posts.See Managing social posts.
Priority Label for Requests/ApprovalsEnables end users to see the priority labels on requests and approvals.No additional configuration.
Reopen RequestEnables end users to click the Reopen Request button for completed requests.No additional configuration.
Request Again

Enables end users to click the Request Again button for service requests with the following statuses:

  • In Progress
  • Waiting Approval
  • Cancelled
  • Closed
No additional configuration.
Sign Out Enables end users to the sign out of the client application.No additional configuration.
Similar Knowledge ArticlesEnables end users to search for similar knowledge articles.See Enabling self-service in an organization.
Social ActivitiesEnables end users to post any information on a user profile, group profile, asset profile, and location profile.See Managing social posts.
Use ITSM Job Title for user instead of DWP Job Title

Enables the synchronization of BMC Digital Workplace and Remedy ITSM user profiles. As a result, end users can view and edit their job titles.

See Setting up end users' job titles synchronization.

User Profile Data Editing

Enables end users to update their work email and work phone number from their profile in the client application.

If this check box is selected, the work email and work phone updated in the BMC Digital Workplace profile are taken to the CTM:People form. If this check box is clear, the work email and work phone number are read-only.

Regardless of this setting, end users can add other profile data such as additional email addresses and phone numbers.

No additional configuration.

The following video (3:10) demonstrates how you can enable end users to update their details from their profile in the client application.

The video shows an older version of BMC Digital Workplace. The previous product name was MyIT. Although there might be minor changes in the UI, the overall functionality remains the same.



https://youtu.be/PBYAQ4OU-ys


Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments